‘The View’s Whoopi Goldberg Shocks Joy Behar By Revealing Her Last Boyfriend Was “40 Years Older” Than Her: “Is He Still Alive?”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Whoopi Goldberg is full of shocking surprises this week. Just one day after admitting she’s been to jail (then taking the comment back), she revealed that she once dated a man who was 40 years her senior.

On this morning’s episode of The View, the ladies discussed Anne Hathaway and Nicholas Galitzine‘s controversial new romantic drama The Idea of You, which has gotten heat on social media for the actors’ 12-year age gap ever since the steamy trailer dropped earlier this week. The movie follows a 40-year-old single mom who sparks a romance with a famous singer in his 20s.

“What is the problem? If you don’t want to see the movie, don’t see the movie,” Goldberg fumed at the haters. “Stop bitching about it!”

Sara Haines then noted that a 12-year age gap really isn’t so bad. She told the panel, “I dated a guy for four years that was 18 years older than me. Eleven feels much more acceptable to my parents.”

Haines, Joy Behar and Sunny Hostin all married men younger than them in the end. Meanwhile, Goldberg has been a tad more free-spirited when it comes to the ages of her past lovers.

“I’ve gone up and down. I go from here to here,” she said. “Your age is not what’s going to get me into your arms. It’s not your age that I’m concerned about — unless you’re under 18, in which case I can’t.”

'The View'
Photo: ABC

Behar argued that big age gaps can be “problematic.” While she thought “40 and 20” was just fine, she said things start to get a little “hairy” when the people are “60 and 80.”

Goldberg went on to counter the comedian’s point, telling the group, “Actually, I’m just gonna say this to you. One of the last relationships I had, he was 40 years older than me.”

The moderator’s confession stunned Behar, who understandably wondered if he was still alive. Goldberg’s simple nod seemed to confirm that her ex-boyfriend is, in fact, still kicking — which would put him at a staggering 108 years old.

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.