‘RHOC’ Alum Braunwyn Windham-Burke And Ex-Husband Sean Burke Accuse Each Other Of Abuse

Where to Stream:

The Real Housewives of Orange County

Powered by Reelgood

Things are getting messy in the Windham-Burke family. Former Real Housewives of Orange County star Braunwyn Windham-Burke and her ex-husband Sean Burke have accused each other of physical abuse, while their daughter Rowan Burke has publicly taken her dad’s side.

Us Weekly reports that Braunwyn was recently granted a temporary order of protection against Sean for herself and their four youngest children (ages five to 10). According to court documents obtained by the outlet, the former reality star claims she was assaulted by her ex-husband on Christmas last year.

“[He] grabbed my shoulders, slammed me into the outside of the garage and continued to shake me until I ran to the car and left as quickly as possible,” she alleges in the filing.

Braunwyn also reportedly accuses Sean of punching her in the eye, destroying her property and stalking their children at school.

The same day Braunwyn filed the complaint, Sean filed an order of protection against her, claiming she was verbally abusive toward him and their children, whom she allegedly threatened to “disown” and “kick” out of her house. He says that she “[scared] the kids with false allegations that their dad is violent,” showed up “uninvited” to his house and told one of their daughters that she wants his “girlfriend to die.”

The duo’s 21-year-old daughter, Rowan, also filed a petition for protection from her mother. She alleges that Braunwyn “caused unfixable emotional harm” to their family and “physically abused” her in 2020 by hitting her over the head with a “ballet barre.” She also claims that her mom has “abused, hit, and thrown things’ at her dad.”

Sean and Rowan’s petitions, however, were denied for “lack of cause pending a hearing,” according to Us Weekly.

Rowan previously spoke out against her mother, who posted a lengthy Instagram caption detailing Sean’s alleged “abuse” and “manipulation.”

“So my mother and grandmother whom I had to block both and speak to neither have decided to spread lies about my dad on social media. And I’m done. I’m done,” Rowan wrote on her Instagram Story and later reposted to her page. “My dad is the kindest most amazing person and the reason I’m still here.”

She continued, “She is the narcissist. My grandma and mother. End. Of. Story. I’m done with the lies and I’m done with them trying to blast his name. Maybe for ONCE in my life someone will listen to me. Don’t believe these lies. I obviously know what’s true. And it’s not what she wrote in that caption.”

Rowan’s younger brother, Jacob Burke, also defended their father on Instagram, where he called Braunwyn an “abuser, liar and manipulator,” per The Daily Mail.

“She has been harassing my dad for many years now, and last time she called me she yelled at me for talking to my dad’s gf, so idk,” Jacob wrote. “Bye, gunna log off insta for another 3 years.”

Braunwyn and Sean finalized their divorce in November 2023 after 23 years of marriage. The mom-of-seven came out as lesbian in 2020, and is currently engaged to Jennifer Spinner.

If you or someone you know is a victim of domestic abuse, help is available. Call the National Domestic Violence Hotline 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 800-799-7233, or text START to 88788.