Sharon Osbourne Claims Nobody In U.S. Will Hire Her: “They Say I Am Racist”

Sharon Osbourne says she can’t seem to book a gig in the United States.

While appearing on Celebrity Big Brother in the United Kingdom, Osbourne talked to her housemates Lauren Simon and Louis Walsh about the public backlash she has faced since her infamous argument with Sheryl Underwood on The Talk.

“I got banned in America,” Osbourne said. “I did nothing wrong.”

Simon then asked Osbourne if she was allowed to work in the U.S., to which she replied: “I can legally…but nobody will employ me because they say I am racist.”

Simon then mentioned Osbourne being Jewish, to which she responded, “I know, and that’s what I said to them!”

“They think we don’t know what it’s like to be picked on,” Osbourne added. “I wouldn’t pick on anyone because of their race or religion, ever.”

Osbourne ignited controversy during an appearance on The Talk in March 2021, when she defended Piers Morgan who was facing backlash for questioning the validity of Meghan Markle’s mental health issues that she shared during her interview with Oprah Winfrey.

During the conversation, Osbourne insisted that Morgan is “not racist” and said, “Did I like everything he said? Did I agree with what he said? No.” She explained that she was defending Morgan “Because it’s his opinion. It’s not my opinion… I support him for his freedom of speech, and he’s my friend.”

Underwood responded by saying, “While you are standing by your friend, it appears that you are giving validation or safe haven to something that he has uttered that is racist,” to which Osbourne responded, “I feel like I’m about to be put in the electric chair because I have a friend who many people think is racist, so that makes me a racist.”

Following the tense on-air exchange, Osbourne was accused of racist and homophobic behavior behind the scenes of The Talk. Osbourne denied the allegations but exited the series anyway.

“The events of the March 10 broadcast were upsetting to everyone involved, including the audience watching at home,” said CBS in a statement at the time. “As part of our review, we concluded that Sharon’s behavior toward her co-hosts during the March 10 episode did not align with our values for a respectful workplace.”