Christina Applegate Opens Up About Living With Multiple Sclerosis: “I Live Kind Of In Hell”

Where to Stream:

Good Morning America

Powered by Reelgood

Christina Applegate is set to appear in her first on-camera interview on Good Morning America since receiving her multiple sclerosis diagnosis. Joined by Sopranos star Jamie-Lynn Sigler — who has been living with MS since she was 20 years old — Applegate will open up to Robin Roberts about living with the chronic disease since she was diagnosed in 2021.

“I live kind of in hell,” the Dead to Me actress confesses in a new clip from the interview. “I’m not out a lot, so this is a little difficult, just for my system. But of course, the support is wonderful and I’m really grateful.”

Applegate also opens up about her experience appearing at the Emmy Awards, where she received a standing ovation. “We don’t have to applaud every time I do something,” she joked at the time.

Speaking to Roberts, Applegate confesses that she “blacked out” on stage.

“People said, ‘Oh you were so funny,’ and I’m like, ‘I don’t even know what I said,’” Applegate says. “I don’t know what I was doing. I got so freaked out that I didn’t even know what was happening anymore. And I felt really beloved, and it was a beautiful thing.”

Regarding Applegate and Sigler’s newfound friendship, Roberts adds, “While they are at different stages of dealing with the disease, they’re supporting each other.”

In a new interview with People, Sigler revealed that she got in touch with Applegate after she learned about her diagnosis.  “I wanted to give her tools and things that I’ve learned that have helped me,” she said.

Their friendship inspired them to launch a new podcast together titled MeSsy, which premieres March 19.

“We would talk on the phone for two hours, and we’d be laughing and crying and we were like, ‘This is helping us. Let’s record this. Let’s do it,'” Applegate told People.

The podcast will show the actresses candidly discussing their experiences with MS while featuring celebrity interviews with the likes of Martin Short and Edie Falco.

“It’s not about the specific experience we’re having,” Sigler said to People. “It’s us facing something hard and it’s about figuring out how to still push through. I’ve never been more … nervous isn’t the word, but like a good anxious about any project I’ve ever put out more than this, because I care so deeply about it. We are sharing the deepest parts of ourselves.”

Applegate’s interview premieres on Good Morning America Tuesday (March 12).