Ayesha Curry Tells ‘WWHL’ She Sabered A Champagne Bottle Near Barack Obama: “I Blacked Out And Forgot I Was Standing Right Behind His Head”

Where to Stream:

Watch What Happens Live With Andy Cohen

Powered by Reelgood

Ayesha Curry made her Watch What Happens Live debut on Monday night (March 11) and she did not disappoint.

The actress stopped by The Clubhouse to promote her new movie The Irish Wish. While she chatted about her close friendship with her co-star Lindsay Lohan and revealed the first meal she ever cooked for her NBA husband, the real tea came during the WWHL: After Show, which was posted on YouTube.

A virtual fan called in to ask Curry about the time former President Barack Obama dined at her San Francisco restaurant International Smoke back in 2019.

“Oh, my goodness. I think everything was nerve-racking. Everything,” Curry recalled.

She continued, “But I sabered a bottle of champagne and I, for some reason, blacked out and forgot that I was standing right behind his head. So Secret Service was kind of inching in and I didn’t realize until after.”

The basketball wife noted that it was still a “successful” experience, while her co-guest Awkwafina and host Andy Cohen were merely shocked that she knew how to saber a champagne bottle.

“I can do it with an iPhone,” Curry revealed, to which Awkwafina quipped, “What about a Galaxy Flip?”

Meanwhile, Awkwafina — who also made her first appearance on WWHL — outed herself as a die-hard Bravoholic during the After Show. While she initially tried to play it cool, it became clear how big of a fan she was when she began listing the Bravo shows she watches.

Real Housewives of Beverly Hills, Real Housewives of Salt Lake City, Real Housewives of New York, Real Housewives of Atlanta, Real Housewives of New Jersey,” she said.

She continued, “Even the Real Housewives when they go on vacation. I watch Below Deck: Mediterranean, I watch Below Deck. I started Vanderpump Rules because someone got a little angry at me and called me Jax [Taylor] and I didn’t know what that meant so I started to watch it. And I’m loving it.”

Watch What Happens Live airs Sunday through Thursdays at 10 p.m. ET on Bravo. New episodes are available to stream the next day on Peacock.