Shannen Doherty Says She Was “Horrified” By Brenda, Dylan And Kelly’s Love Triangle In ‘Beverly Hills, 90210’

Where to Stream:

Beverly Hills 90210

Powered by Reelgood

Brenda Walsh and Dylan McKay were the “it” couple in the early seasons of Beverly Hills, 90210 — well, until he struck up a fling with her best friend Kelly Taylor and chose to be with her instead. While looking back on the love triangle, Shannen Doherty, who played Brenda, said she was “horrified” by the storyline that led to Kelly and Dylan getting together.

In the teen drama’s third season, Brenda jets off to Paris for the summer, leaving behind Dylan (the late and great Luke Perry) and Kelly (Jennie Garth), who grow closer in her absence. When she returns to California, Dylan and Brenda break up and he ultimately decides that he would rather be with Kelly.

In a new Q&A episode of her Let’s Be Clear podcast, Doherty, who left the series after Season 5, revealed how she really felt about Dylan and Kelly’s summer fling.

“I was horrified,” she said. “I was so not into that because I just thought Brenda and Dylan were the best things ever so I didn’t understand anyone wanting to mess up that storyline.”

Doherty continued, “And then to have someone’s best friend sleep with her boyfriend is such a betrayal that I don’t even know how Brenda recovered from that. I don’t think she did recover, personally. So I wasn’t thrilled with it, but I didn’t have much say so I went with it.”

Dylan and Kelly end up going to prom and graduating high school as a couple. While they break up in college, they eventually decide to get back together in the series finale. In the 2008 reboot 90210, Kelly reveals that Dylan is the father of her four-year-old son Sammy. However, they ended their relationship when he was only a baby.

'Beverly Hills 90210'
Photo: Everett Collection

Doherty, meanwhile, has been chock-full of Beverly Hills 90210 tea. In another recent episode of her podcast, she opened up about the time Garth “lost it” on her, forcing co-stars Brian Austin Green and Ian Ziering to keep their fight from “escalating.”

“[Garth] was doing, she was calling it ‘Pants Down Day,’ where she would pull the pants on some of the crew members in a funny way and some of them were getting pretty annoyed with it,” Doherty explained, adding that she decided to do “Skirt Up Day” to give Garth “a taste of her own medicine.”

She continued, “And she always wore the men’s Calvin Klein boxer shorts under her clothes, so I didn’t think it was that big of a deal. So I did ‘Skirt Up Day,’ and oh my God, she lost it on me. And I was just not in the mood to back down.”

Beverly Hills, 90210 is currently streaming on Prime Video.