Olivia Munn Diagnosed With “Agressive” Breast Cancer, Underwent Double Mastectomy

Olivia Munn has been diagnosed with breast cancer. The actress revealed on Instagram this morning that she had undergone a double mastectomy after her diagnosis, sharing an image of herself in a hospital bed along with a lengthy statement about how she discovered the cancer, urging others to be proactive about their health.

Munn wrote in the caption of her post, “I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I hope by sharing this it will help others find comfort, inspiration and support on their own journey.”

In additional slides, she wrote a longer message to fans, explaining that she had been diagnosed after her OBGYN calculated her Breast Cancer Risk Assessment Score and found that she had a lifetime risk of 37%.

After undergoing an MRI and an ultrasound, Munn had a biopsy, which found Luminal B cancer — which she described as “an aggressive, fast moving cancer” — in both of her breasts.

Thirty days after her biopsy, Munn underwent a double mastectomy.

“I went from feeling completely fine one day, to waking up in a hospital bed after a 10-hour surgery the next,” she wrote.

Munn said that she was “lucky” to have caught the cancer “with enough time that I had options.” She continued, “I want the same for any woman who might have to face this one day. Ask your doctor to calculate your Breast Cancer Risk Assessment Score. Dr. Aliabadi says that If the number is greater than 20%, you need annual mammograms and breast MRIs starting at age 30.”

Munn, who has been in a relationship with John Mulaney for years and shares one child with him, went on to thank her boyfriend, her support system and her care team at Los Angeles’ Cedars-Sinai and Santa Monica’s Saint John’s for helping her through the difficult time, which included four surgeries.

“I’m so thankful to my friends and family for loving me through this,” she wrote. “I’m so thankful to John for the nights he spent researching what every operation and medication meant and what side effects and recovery I could expect. For being there before I went into each surgery and being there when I woke up.”

Munn’s announcement comes just days after she attended the 2024 Oscars with Mulaney.

Munn shared in her Instagram post that she has been laying low since her diagnosis, writing, “I’ve tended to let people see me when I have energy, when I can get dressed and get out of the house, when I can take my baby boy to the park. I’ve kept the diagnosis and the worry and the recovery and the pain medicine and the paper gowns private. I needed to catch my breath and get through some of the hardest parts before sharing.”