Ex ‘Mandalorian’ Star Gina Carano Claims Disney And Lucasfilm Made Her Attend “Reeducation Camp” After Having A “Massive Meltdown” Over Her Problematic Tweets

Where to Stream:

The Mandalorian

Powered by Reelgood

Former Mandalorian star Gina Carano is speaking out for the first time since filing a lawsuit against Disney and Lucasfilms, in which she claimed the companies discriminated and launched a “smear campaign” against her after she was fired.

A profile from The Hollywood Reporter outlined multiple controversial social media posts the actress made that lead to her firing, including one where she shared an image that showed a Jewish woman being chased by a boy with a bat during the Holocaust, which she likened to “hating someone for their political views.”

But Carano specifically recalled the post that caused a “massive meltdown.” The actress had been facing pressure from fans online to share her pronouns in her Twitter bio to show solidarity with the trans community. But she refused, and instead attempted to make what she thought was a “cute” joke by listing “boop/bop/beep” as her pronouns.

Lucasfilm and Disney HR had her go through a sensitivity training – which she referred to as a “reeducation camp” – with two transgender representatives from GLAAD. “It was a lovely conversation,” Carano recalled. “They said, ‘Oh, darling, I’m so sorry you stepped on a land mine.’ I listened to them and they listened to me. It was sweet and it was fun, even.” 

Gina Carano in The Mandalorian Season 2
Photo: Everett Collection

She also said the company demanded she put out an apology, which she described as “one of those statements that almost makes you roll your eyes.” Carano offered to write her own apology which reportedly underwent several edits before the effort was ultimately abandoned.

She maintained that she was not trying to mock the trans community by editing her pronouns to read “boop/bop/beep.”

“I’ve had male publicists with the same size feet as me and we run around in my shoes and try on my dresses,” she told THR. “I was just fed up. So I was like, ‘Fine, I’ll put something in my bio: ‘boop/bop/beep.’ I thought it was cute, like R2-D2.”

Carano called that controversial social media post “the start of the end for me.”

“A 20-year career, the blood, sweat and tears of fighting? I never compromised myself for a job. I never ended in a bad situation where I did anything inappropriate. I had a clean and clear climb to where I got to and was going to just keep going. And boop/bop/beep was that harmful?” she said.

Carano’s lawsuit against Disney and Lucasfilms claims the companies “targeted, harassed, publicly humiliated, defamed, and went to great lengths to destroy Carano’s career, all because she made political statements that did not align with what they believed was an acceptable viewpoint.” It also stipulates at multiple times that Carano’s male co-stars were not disciplined for sharing their own political beliefs.

She seeks to be hired her back onto The Mandalorian. She also demands compensatory damages of at least $75,000, punitive damages, and compensatory loss for missing out on future opportunities, including the spinoff series Rangers of The New Republic.

Carano maintains that she does not regret any of her actions, despite undergoing what she claims is “one of the most aggressive unnecessary cancellations in Hollywood history.”

“If the unforgivable sin in Hollywood is being a person who wouldn’t perfectly conform at a time when emotions were running wild in the world, then that’s probably not a Hollywood I’ll ever belong to,” she says. “But I think once egos are put aside, Hollywood has the opportunity to grow just like we all do.”