‘Live’s Mark Consuelos Is Obsessed With “Ribbed For His Pleasure” Sneakers That Kelly Ripa Hates: “They’re Not That Offensive”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Are sneakers supposed to be sexy? On Live with Kelly and Mark this morning, host Kelly Ripa shared in the opening segment results from a poll about what attire people do and don’t find sexy on men. 

Among the statistics Ripa presented, 47% of those surveyed believe that men’s jewelry is “relatively unsexy,” 41% said that black clothes are attractive, and just 3% of participants named ankles as the sexiest body part a man can reveal: “Am I seeing any man ankles today? Mankles?” 

She also shared that only 22% of participants think men over the age of fifty look sexy in sneakers. “So, I’m eyeballing some of you in here,” Ripa said to the audience and to her co-host.

This quickly shifted to a discussion about co-host Mark Consuelos’ own pair of sneakers, which the married couple seem to have some disagreements about. 

“We gotta talk about my shoes,” Consuelos said, pulling out his own sneaker from under the desk. “I love these sneakers!” 

He showed off a simple, nothing-special black lifestyle shoe to the camera and audience. “This is a cool sneaker, you can wear [it] with a pair of jeans, you know, some athleisure… I wore them with a suit once when I forgot my shoes!” 

Though the shoes are a little basic, they’re not terrible (though they certainly do not belong with a men’s suit!), but based on the displeased look on Ripa’s face, she did not seem to agree with her on and off screen partner.

“My wife hates these shoes,” Consuelos went on. “I think they’re a cool sneaker. Is everybody OK with these?”

Kelly and Mark sneakers
Photo: ABC

The audience erupted in supportive applause for him, but Ripa didn’t seem to be convinced. While Consuelos gushed over his kicks, she gave major side eye both to him and to the audience. (Personally, if I had been attending this morning’s taping, I wouldn’t have enabled Mark with pity applause. Kelly, I got you, girl!)

But this endorsement clearly wasn’t enough, as Consuelos went on: “They’re not that offensive!”

“You know what I like about them? They have like a wide toe box, [they] let your feet spread out. They actually have these things in here, they’re ribbed for my pleasure! Feel that!” he said.

Ripa rolled her eyes as Consuelos took her hand and ran it through the inside of the shoe, to the roaring laughter of the audience.

“I’m happy for you,” Ripa said, finally. “I like that they make you happy.”

Kelly, we commend your bravery! 

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. See their website for local listings.