Jimmy Kimmel Fires Back At Donald Trump For “Still Stewing” Over His Oscars Joke: “I Love That This Bothered Him So Much”

Where to Stream:

Jimmy Kimmel Live

Powered by Reelgood

Jimmy Kimmel and Donald Trump are continuing to trade blows more than one week after the comedian roasted the former POTUS at the 2024 Oscars, which aired on March 10.

It all started when Kimmel took some extra time right before the Best Picture announcement to read Trump’s criticism of the ceremony. In the Truth Social post, Trump described Kimmel as a “less than average person trying too hard to be something which he is not,” adding that the network should replace him as host with “another washed up, but cheap, ABC ‘talent’ George Slopanopoulos,” referring to George Stephanopoulos.

Once he finished reading the post, Kimmel looked into the camera and said, “Thank you, President Trump. Thank you for watching. I’m surprised you’re still up — isn’t it past your jail time?” making even Margot Robbie laugh.

Trump doubled down on his disapproval of Kimmel during a recent interview with Fox News, claiming the Jimmy Kimmel Live host is “not a talented guy.”

“I hear he hits me all the time so I figured I’d hit him because I thought he was a lousy host,” Trump said, adding that he “never expected” Kimmel to read it on live television. “This guy’s even dumber than I thought. The thing went viral, it went all over the world. And all he had to do was keep his mouth shut.”

On Monday night’s (March 18) episode of Jimmy Kimmel Live, Kimmel once again fired back at the Republican presidential hopeful, who he claimed was “still stewing about a joke I made about him at the Oscars.”

“I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. Donald Trump has said I’m not talented so many times Eric is starting to get jealous,” he quipped. “But what he doesn’t realize is that I love this. I love that this bothered him so much, I love that Fox picked a news guy nobody knows to interview him, and I especially love when he tries to spin the fact that everyone was laughing at him into a positive.”

In regard to the bit going “viral,” Kimmel reminded Trump that it was actually his “jail time” joke that got people talking.

“But if only I’d kept my mouth shut,” he quipped. “Imagine him telling anyone they should’ve kept their mouth shut. That should be on his tombstone: ‘Should’ve kept his mouth shut.'”

Jimmy Kimmel Live airs on weeknights at 11:35/10:35c on ABC. Check out last night’s monologue above.