Dana Carvey Apologizes To Sharon Stone For “Offensive” ‘SNL’ Sketch In Which She Was Forced To Strip Her Clothes Off: “It’s From Another Era”

Where to Stream:

Saturday Night Live

Powered by Reelgood

Sharon Stone recently looked back on her experience starring in the now-infamous Saturday Night Live skit “Airport Security Check,” in which she played a woman being conned by TSA officials into taking her clothes off.

The skit came up during Stone’s recent appearance on Dana Carvey and David Spade‘s podcast Fly on the Wall, when Carvey took the opportunity to apologize to Stone for the nature of the skit, with Spade noting that it was “so offensive” in today’s day and age.

“I want to apologize publicly for the security check sketch where I played an Indian man and we’re convincing Sharon, her character, or whatever—to take her clothes off to go through the security thing,” Carvey said. “It’s so 1992, you know, it’s from another era.”

Stone told them she didn’t mind “being the butt of the joke” for that skit.

“I know the difference between a misdemeanor and a felony,” she said, “And I think that we were all committing misdemeanors [at the time] because we didn’t think there was something wrong then. We didn’t have this sense. That was funny to me, I didn’t care.”

Sharon Stone on SNL
Photo: NBC

She later added that she was “honestly blacked out for half of the show” because of how fast-paced it is. But she later joked, “I usually wake up when people start asking me to take my clothes off.”

That episode had another memorable moment that they also touched on during their discussion: Stone’s monologue was crashed by protesters who were picketing Basic Instinct.

“A bunch of people started storming the stage, saying they were going to kill me during the opening monologue,” she said. “The police that are always in there during all of that, and the security that is always in there, froze ’cause they’d never seen anything like that happen. They sort of, they froze. Lorne [Michaels] started screaming, ‘What are you guys doing, watching the f—ing show?’ And Lorne started, himself, beating up and pulling these people back from the stage.”

The actress admitted she was “terrified” as she recalled, “All these people are getting beat up and handcuffed right in front of me, and we went live. I was doing this live monologue while they were beating up and handcuffing people at my feet.”

The monologue has since been removed from that episode on Peacock and was replaced by the monologue from her rehearsal.

Scroll up to check out the entire Saturday Night Live skit.