‘Real Housewives Of Potomac’ Star Karen Huger Totaled Her Car In High-Speed Accident And Charged With DUI: Report

UPDATE 3/21/24: Karen Huger was charged with one count of driving under the influence and hit with six other traffic violations following her car accident, according to TMZ. The outlet reports that she will be forced to make a mandatory court appearance. 

Huger also released a statement to TMZ.

“Thank you all for your prayers and well wishes during this very frightening experience. I am still in shock from last nights incident, but grateful to be alive today,” she said. “With the passing of my Beloved Mother, Grief comes and goes in waves, and with Mothers Day approaching it has felt more like a tsunami.”

As far as the accident, Huger said she was on her way home from dinner when she saw a car heading right for her.

“I swerved to avoid the head-on collision, hit the divider and then a tree. I’m hurt, bruised up a bit, but so grateful I am alive!” she said. “I did receive citations, one of which was unrelated to the incident which is understandable, but what was most surprising is that the car that almost hit me just drove away!”

She concluded, “I would like to stress, it’s important to understand your emotional state when driving and may this be a reminder to all to use their seatbelts, my Mother may be my Guardian Angel but the seatbelt saved my life.”


Karen Huger, otherwise known as the Grande Dame of The Real Housewives of Potomac on Bravo, was reportedly involved in a scary car accident, which left her vehicle so damaged that it was unable to be driven.

A representative for the Montgomery County Police told TMZ that Huger was driving a 2017 Maserati in Potomac, Maryland on Tuesday night (March 19) when the accident took place. They claimed she was driving in an “aggressive manner” which was “too fast for the conditions.”

Huger reportedly struck a median and a crosswalk sign at an intersection, before ultimately colliding with a parking sign off the roadway and coming to a halt. Police said airbags were deployed — but there has been no word on whether she was injured. No other passengers were in the car.

Meanwhile, the vehicle had to be towed away as it was too wrecked to operate.

While Huger was not arrested, she reportedly received multiple citations — though it’s unclear what they were for.

Decider has reached out to reps for Huger, but did not hear back by the time of publication.

The reality star joined The Real Housewives of Potomac during its debut season in 2016 — and has remained on the show ever since. In fact, the hit series is currently in the height of its eighth season.

Karen Huger
Getty

Back in December 2023, Huger stopped by Decider’s office, where she dished on “[leading] by example” in her friend group.

“I think as their friend, I have to lead by example with these relationships,” she said at the time. “Whether they say it out loud or not, the girls respect me. I love them, and I want the best for them. So I will have the difficult conversations. I will put everything on the table. I will try and make it comical because I’m not after blood, I’m after healing.”

She added, “Healing does exist through difficult conversations and coming to a solution. Yeah, I will take any opportunity to bring the girls together. You’ll see that.”