Erratic Pete Davidson Abruptly Quits ‘Bupkis’ Despite The Show’s Season 2 Renewal: “This Part Of My Life Is Finished”

Where to Stream:

Bupkis

Powered by Reelgood

Pete Davidson is bidding farewell to Bupkis.

The actor and comic has chosen to scrap the series ahead of its sophomore season, explaining in a statement to The Hollywood Reporter that he’s “always seen Bupkis as a window into [his] life, since it is so personal and about [his] struggles and family.”

“After nearly a decade of my personal life being in the media I wanted a chance to tell my story my way,” he continued. “Of all the work I’ve ever done, Bupkis is by far what I’m most proud of.”

He also expressed his gratitude to “Lorne Michaels and Broadway Video, Peacock, Universal Television and the amazing cast and writers for helping [him] create something honest, funny and heartfelt.”

“I do also feel that this part of my life is finished,” he added. “I’m very excited for this next chapter and for you guys to see the work. Thank you to all who support me for I am forever grateful.”

Season 2 was renewed by Peacock in June 2023, per Deadline. Sources revealed to THR that the comic’s agent reportedly sent an email to the streamer “earlier this week,” but had not informed production company Broadway Video. According to the outlet, filming was slated to take place this summer in New York.

Pete Davidson and Joe Pesci in 'Bupkis'
Photo: Heidi Gutman/Peacock

The semi-autobiographical comedy also starred Edie Falco as Davidson’s mother Amy and Joe Pesci as Joe Larocca, his grandfather. Among the slew of stars that also appeared in the series were Bobby Cannavale, Chase Sui Wonders, Kenan Thompson, Steve Buscemi, La La Anthony, Paul Walter Hauser and John Mulaney.

As for what else Davidson has been up to these days, he recently starred in Bodies Bodies Bodies (which recently dropped on Netflix), and released a stand-up special titled Pete Davidson: Turbo Fonzarelli, which debuted on Netflix in January. He also returned to his old stomping grounds of Studio 8H to host Saturday Night Live‘s Season 49 premiere.

Season 1 of Bupkis is streaming on Peacock.