Jack Black Says He’s “Ready” To Make ‘School Of Rock 2’ – But They’ll Need Mike White “Back In The Saddle”

Where to Stream:

School Of Rock

Powered by Reelgood

Jack Black recently confirmed that he would certainly be interested in reprising one of the most beloved roles of his career in a School of Rock sequel, as long as Mike White returns to write it.

“I wish there’d be a School of Rock 2: Electric Boogaloo,” Black said in a recent interview, referencing the 1984 sequel to Breakin‘. “I’m ready.”

The 2003 comedy starred Black as Dewey Finn, an underachieving, washed-up rockstar who gets a second chance when he impersonates his roommate and becomes a substitute teacher at a local private school. There, he recruits a class of prep school kids to form a rock band and perform at the local Battle of the Bands.

Sarah Silverman, Joan Cusack, and Miranda Cosgrove starred in the family friendly comedy, alongside White, who also wrote the film.

“Mike White wrote the first one and he’s a genius,” Black said. “We’d have to have Mike White back in the saddle, but he’s real busy right now with White Lotus, the best show on TV.”

The film has already been adapted into a Broadway musical and a Nickelodeon series, but there has been no news regarding a possible sequel to the film — until now.

For now, White is busy filming White Lotus Season 3 in Thailand, so only time will tell when he will have a chance to start working on School of Rock 2.

School of Rock
Photo: Paramount

In an oral history with Rolling Stone commemorating the film’s 20th anniversary, Black confessed that he was nervous to work with kids.

“In retrospect, it seems ridiculous, because I’m such an immature idiot that it was a perfect match to be with a bunch of kids. We had a blast — horsing around and making jokes and making fart noises in between takes,” he recalled.

But Black has long said that making School of Rock was the highlight of his career.

“That’s the one that’s nearest and dearest to my heart, because it was so much a part of me,” he said. “It does mirror my experience with the entertainment industry. It felt like the planets aligned and I got to do the movie that I was born to do. It didn’t really matter if I did anything else after that. There’s my tombstone. I can just chill and relax now, because I did it.”

School of Rock is currently streaming on Netflix.