Anne Hathaway Reveals Starring In Christopher Nolan’s ‘Interstellar’ Saved Her Career When “A Lot Of People” Refused To Cast Her

Where to Stream:

Interstellar

Powered by Reelgood

Anne Hathaway recently opened up about the unfortunate turn her career took after she won an Oscar for her performance in Les Misérables, revealing that director Christopher Nolan played a major role in getting her career back on track.

In an interview with Vanity Fair, the actress revealed that the “toxic” online hate that she received after her Oscar win seriously impacted her career.

“A lot of people wouldn’t give me roles because they were so concerned about how toxic my identity had become online,” she told the outlet.

She then praised Nolan for casting her in the 2014 sci-fi epic Interstellar after they had previously worked together on The Dark Knight Rises. Nolan’s support, she said, helped turn her career around just in time.

“I had an angel in Christopher Nolan, who did not care about that and gave me one of the most beautiful roles I’ve had in one of the best films that I’ve been a part of,” she said. “I don’t know if he knew that he was backing me at the time, but it had that effect. And my career did not lose momentum the way it could have if he hadn’t backed me.”

INTERSTELLAR, from left: Anne Hathaway, Matthew McConaughey,
Photo: ©Paramount/Courtesy Everett Collection / Everett Collection

Dubbed “Hathahate,” the hate campaign Hathaway faced was not just from netizens who became annoyed with her earnest approach to acting. It also inspired think pieces from The New York Times and The New Yorker.

Hathaway candidly addressed that difficult period of time.

“Humiliation is such a rough thing to go through,” she said. “The key is to not let it close you down.”

She continued, “You have to stay bold, and it can be hard because you’re like, ‘If I stay safe, if I hug the middle, if I don’t draw too much attention to myself, it won’t hurt.’ But if you want to do that, don’t be an actor. You’re a tightrope walker. You’re a daredevil. You’re asking people to invest their time and their money and their attention and their care into you.”

She added, “So you have to give them something worth all of those things. And if it’s not costing you anything, what are you really offering?”

Hathaway’s latest film The Idea Of You premieres on Prime Video May 2.