Mike Birbiglia Recalls Joining His Campus Improv Group And Finding His People In This ‘Good One: A Show About Jokes’ First Look: “That Was Like A Huge Breakthrough In My Life”

Where to Stream:

Good One: A Show About Jokes

Powered by Reelgood

Mike Birbiglia is taking a trip down memory lane.

Decider has a first look at Peacock‘s upcoming docu-special Good One: A Show About Jokes. In this exclusive clip, we see Birbiglia return to the glorious Gaston Hall at his alma mater, Georgetown University.

“The idea that I would just be performing in a 600-seat theatre was just shocking,” he shares in the clip. “Like I think maybe it was a standing ovation. It was pretty big.”

He recalls meeting fellow comic and Georgetown alum Nick Kroll while competing in the “funniest person on campus contest.”

“It was a really fluky thing that a bunch of comedians came from this school cause it’s like not a funny school,” he notes. “It’s just a very serious place.”

As we see more of the venue’s architecture, he adds, “I never even clocked really the idea that I was doing comedy in this very like, almost like religious hall.”

He remembers auditioning for the campus improv group, claiming that “it was a long shot” he made it in considering he was up against “50 or 100” other hopefuls. Upon joining the group, he found himself “friends with these 10 hilarious people, who were funnier than anyone [he] had met in [his] whole life.”

Mike Birbiglia in 'Good One; A Show About Jokes'
Photo: YouTube/ @Peacock

“And I was like, oh ok, I guess these people exist,” he remembers thinking. “And it was very eye-opening. It made me feel a certain sense of hope that I found my people, and that what I thought was funny about me, they thought was funny about me. And that was like a huge breakthrough in my life.”

Good One — which is an iteration of Vulture‘s podcast of the same name — takes viewers along with Birbiglia from Providence, Rhode Island to Washington, D.C. as he works on new material. The 45-minute-long special also features Seth Meyers, Joe Birbiglia, Hasan Minhaj, and Atsuko Okatsuka.

Executive producers on the docu-special are Eddie Schmidt, Jesse David Fox, Scoop Wasserstein, Pam Wasserstein, Seth Meyers, Mike Shoemaker, and Jason Carden, as well as co-executive producers Austin Flack and Jyllian Gunther. Others behind the special include director Eddie Schmidt and producers Sarit G. Work and Maggie Contreras.

The special is produced by Vox Media Studios with Vulture, Sethmaker Shoemeyers Productions, Eddie Schmidt Productions and Universal Television Alternative Studio, which is a division of Universal Studio Group.

Good One: A Show About Jokes premieres on Peacock on Tuesday, March 26. Check out the exclusive clip above.