Olivia Colman Gets Heated About Hollywood Pay Disparity, Claims If She Were “Oliver Colman” She Would Be Paid “A F*** Of A Lot More”

Where to Stream:

The Favourite

Powered by Reelgood

Olivia Colman is bringing attention to the historic pay disparity between male and female actors in the entertainment industry.

The Favourite star, who earned an Oscar for Best Actress in 2019 for her role in the Yorgos Lanthimos film, shed light on the long withstanding issue while with speaking with Christiane Amanpour on The Amanpour Hour, per Entertainment Weekly.

“Don’t get me started on the pay disparity,” she began, “but male actors get paid more because they used to say they draw in the audiences. And actually, that hasn’t been true for decades.”

She argued that “they still like to use that as a reason to not pay women as much as their male counterparts.” This ultimately prompted Amanpour to question if Colman has experienced “a pay disparity” herself, despite being “an Oscar-winning actress.”

“I’m very aware that if I was Oliver Colman, I’d be earning a fuck of a lot more than I am,” Colman claimed, eventually revealing that she “know[s] of one pay disparity, which is a 12,000% difference.”

As reported by EW, Taraji P. Henson made headlines in December for discussing the wage gap experienced by Black women in Hollywood, telling Gayle King at the time, “Every time I do something and break another glass ceiling, when it’s time to renegotiate, I’m at the bottom again like I never did what I just did, and I’m tired.”

She later said she was surprised by the tremendous response she received, telling Entertainment Tonight that she’s “been saying it for years.”

Leslie Jones also revealed in her memoir Leslie F*cking Jones that she “got paid way less than Melissa McCarthy and Kristen Wiig” for shooting the all-female reboot of Ghostbusters in 2016.

“No knock on them, but my first offer was to do that movie for $67,000,” she claimed, per an excerpt of he memoir published by Rolling Stone. “I had to fight to get more (in the end I got $150K), but the message was clear: ‘This is gonna blow you  up—after this, you’re made for life,’ all that kind of shit, as though I hadn’t had decades of a successful career already. And in the end, all it made for me was heartache and one big-ass controversy.”

Others involved in the industry who are not actors have also shed light on similar experiences, such as Crazy Rich Asians co-screenwriter Adele Lim, who opted out of writing the film’s sequel after allegedly being offered “one-tenth” of her co-writer Peter Chiarelli’s pay, per The Hollywood Reporter.

The Amanpour Hour airs Saturdays at 11 a.m. ET on CNN.