Anne Hathaway Gets Choked Up While Rewatching ‘The Princess Diaries’: “It’s Very Emotional To See It”

Where to Stream:

The Princess Diaries

Powered by Reelgood

We’re not crying, you are. Vanity Fair‘s recent cover star Anne Hathaway had the opportunity to rewatch some of her most iconic movies as part of the outlet’s “Scene Selection” series, including the film she claimed “changed” her life: The Princess Diaries.

Hathaway stars in the film as Mia Thermopolis, whose world turns upside down after she discovers that she’s a princess and begins receiving guidance from her grandmother, Queen Clarisse Renaldi (Julie Andrews).

“I’m sorry, I just have to pause there and say how radiant is Julie Andrews?” Hathaway said in the Vanity Fair video.

Highlighting that she was just 17 while making the movie, Hathaway clarified that she “hadn’t met as many people yet in [her] life,” per Entertainment Tonight.

“And so I knew [director] Gary Marshall was really special, and I knew Julie Andrews was really special,” she added. “But now sitting here watching this from my point of view, they’re two of the most magical people I have ever met.”

She then declared, “This was the film that changed my life.”

Hathaway claimed that it was “so weird” to watch the film, as it had been “maybe 20 years” since she had seen it last.

“I’m a little bit speechless with this one,” she tearfully admitted. “This is, it’s actually, it’s very emotional to see it.”

After dishing on the scene in which Larry Miller’s Paolo breaks the hair brush while brushing her hair, she eventually shed light on how the film “felt so big at the time.”

“… and it wound up being so big, and it’s kind of just gotten bigger as my life has progressed,” she mused. “So this is total fusion of life and work and all of the things. I’m just so proud to be in this movie. I’m really glad that I’m that girl right there.”

Hathaway also rewatched excerpts from The Devil Wears Prada, The Dark Knight Rises, Les Misérables, and her most recent project, The Idea of You. At the end of the video, the actress expressed pride in her work.

“I’m not someone who spends a lot of time looking back or reflecting. I work really hard to be present, and to look at like kind of what’s coming,” she revealed. “So this has actually been a joy, and I’m really proud to have a filmography that makes me so happy and brings me so much pride.”

The Princess Diaries and The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement are streaming on Disney+.