Whoopi Goldberg Leaves Her Seat On ‘The View’ To Scold Audience Member For Recording: “Sir, I Have To Stop You”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

If you’re lucky enough to watch The View live, you’ve gotta follow the rules. One audience member learned that lesson the hard way this morning when he was called out by moderator Whoopi Goldberg, who paused in the middle of the show’s first segment to scold a viewer in the studio.

The surprising moment took place as the panel was discussing Donald Trump‘s new bond, which was lowered to $175 million by an appeals court. The panel chatted about the topic for a few minutes uninterrupted, but as Sunny Hostin began to give her take, saying, “You should be angry,” Goldberg could be seen looking past the Hot Topics table and into the audience.

While Hostin continued, “And I will say this, and I think it will surprise people: The fact that his bond —” Goldberg interjected to stop her, then rose from her seat.

“Hold on, hold on,” she told Hostin, walking behind her co-hosts and around the table to face the audience in the direction where she had been looking as Hostin talked seconds earlier. The rest of the panelists seemed confused, all turning around to see what Goldberg had gotten out of her seat for.

“What’s the matter?” Joy Behar asked.

Addressing an audience member, Goldberg said, “Sir, I have to stop you with the camera, ’cause I can see you.”

She continued, “So do me a favor, don’t pull it out again. I’d appreciate that.”

Goldberg and the viewer appeared to reach an agreement, as she thanked him and returned to her seat while the audience applauded. Behar, who apparently still hadn’t had her question answered, wondered, “What was he doing?” as Sara Haines helpfully replied, “recording.”

The View
Photo: ABC

Because the ladies are true pros, the conversation picked right back up, but Goldberg had another moment later in the segment that proved she’s not one to mess with today. After she appeared to receive direction off camera to let another co-host speak, Goldberg exclaimed, “I’m going to get to her. My god, guys, I’m going to get to her!”

“May I finish my point or do you want me to just jump now?” she asked.

Behar quipped, “Whoopi is not in the mood today!”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.