Jerrod Carmichael Reveals He Once Cracked NSFW Joke On ‘The Ellen Degeneres Show’ That “Got Cut”: “The Audience Went Silent”

Where to Stream:

Late Night With Seth Meyers

Powered by Reelgood

Comedian Jerrod Carmichael was one of the final guests to visit The Ellen Degeneres Show before it ended in 2022, and he certainly made his appearance a memorable one.

The star of HBO’s new series Jerrod Carmichael Reality Show revealed on Late Night with Seth Meyers that he made a rather NSFW joke on the daytime show that completely bombed with the audience, but at least made Seth Meyers laugh.

“It was the last season before she got mean, too,” Carmichael joked, referring to the bombshell report that claimed Ellen DeGeneres fostered a toxic work environment behind the scenes. “The internet found out a 60-year-old lesbian wasn’t always nice.”

He explained, “So I’m doing Ellen, and it’s a studio audience like this, and I’m trying to be comfortable in the moment. I’ll give the abridged version: It’s like, you know, ‘blah blah blah gay,’ and the audience is like, ‘aw,’ and Ellen’s like, ‘blah blah blah, yeah, I’m gay,’ and the audience is like, ‘yeah!'”

But the show took a turn when they began discussing his love life, a topic which Carmichael had a lot to say about.

He explained that DeGeneres asked him if he was dating anybody, which he took as “a good time to make a joke.”

Jerrod Carmichael on Late Night
Photo: NBC

He reportedly told her, “‘Ellen, it’s funny you mention that because I actually recently realized in therapy that if a guy doesn’t somehow remind me of my mom, I can’t get hard.'”

But the audience’s response was not what he was expecting. “Nothing,” he said of the audience’s reaction. “The audience went silent. The boom mic operator pulled the mic away from my face. I look over to Ellen for support. She was just like, ‘Jesus Christ.’ And then it got cut out from the show.”

The joke at least made Meyers and the Late Night audience laugh. “It is funny when I think about how many moms were in that Ellen audience,” Meyers noted.

“I realized it was 2 in the afternoon in Burbank and I was like, Oh this has no place,'” Carmichael said.

Though they may have gotten off on the wrong foot during that appearance, Carmichael only had good things to say about DeGeneres.

“I was so excited to do Ellen because Ellen meant a lot to me growing up because Ellen came out at a really, really difficult time in the ‘90s and she lost everything,” he said. “And she fought back, got a new show, and my mom played her. That was a form of acceptance, like my mom allowed Ellen into the home.”

He added, “I had so much admiration for her, and she’s also an incredible comic and she’s really, really funny.”