Joy Behar Says She Was “Dragged Into” Controversy Over Beyoncé’s ‘Jolene’ Cover On ‘The View’: “I Was Not Criticizing Dolly”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Don’t mess with Joy Behar, TMZ. The notorious celebrity gossip outlet was the center of a Hot Topic on this morning’s episode of The View as Behar and her co-hosts debated Beyoncé‘s buzzy cover of Dolly Parton‘s “Jolene,” which is featured on her latest album, Cowboy Carter.

Behar kicked off the chat by telling her fellow panelists that TMZ had picked up one of her quotes from the Wednesday (April 3) episode of The View‘s Behind The Table podcast, in which she discussed Beyoncé’s updated “Jolene” lyrics.

“We love that song, don’t we?” she asked on today’s episode after The View played a brief clip of Beyoncé’s cover. “Apparently, I’ve been dragged into this controversy by TMZ. They asked Reba McEntire about what I said on The View podcast the other day.”

She then showed a clip of a TMZ reporter asking McEntire, “Joy Behar said she likes Beyoncé’s version of ‘Jolene’ better because Dolly’s was anti-feminist — what do you think about that?”

McEntire refused to weigh in, instead replying, “Beautiful day, isn’t it?”

When the clip concluded, Ana Navarro asked Behar, “Did you actually say something critical about national treasure perfection that is Dolly Parton?”

Behar immediately replied, “No. I was not criticizing Dolly. I love Dolly, she’s fantastic. Dolly has done lots of feminist material. 9 to 5 is a feminist movie. But this particular song is like, ‘I’m beggin’ you, please don’t take my man.’ It just strikes me funny.”

Behar then shared that she has “information” on the origin of “Jolene,” which she said is “based on a real, true incident” when Parton witnessed “some hot chick” hitting on her husband at the bank.

While appearing on Behind The Table, Behar did call Parton’s song “anti-feminist,” but did not say anything critical about the country legend herself.

“I like the subject of Beyoncé taking over the lyrics,” Behar said. “Because the original thing with Dolly Parton is so, like, anti-feminist, worrying about some good-looking woman taking your man. If it’s so easy to take your man, then take him.”

She added, “Beyoncé says, if you take my man, you’re going to be in a lot of trouble. I say, go ahead, take my man. Take him.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.