Marc Summers Claims ‘Quiet On Set’ Producers “Ambushed” Him During His Interview And “Made It Seem Like” He Knew Dan Schneider 

Where to Stream:

Quiet On Set: The Dark Side Of Kids TV

Powered by Reelgood

Former Double Dare host Marc Summers can be seen speaking positively about his experience working with Nickelodeon in the incendiary doc Quiet on Set: The Dark Side of Kids TV. But Summers claims he was unaware of the documentary series’ subject, and is now blasting the producers for the “bait and switch.”

Speaking on Elvis Duran and the Morning Show, Summers said he had agreed to be interviewed under the impression that the documentary series was about the network.

“They asked me what I thought of Nick, and the first 10 to 12 seconds, from what I understand, in this documentary is me saying all these wonderful things. But they did a bait and switch on me,” Summers said, per Variety. “They ambushed me. They never told me what this documentary was really about. And so they showed me a video of something that I couldn’t believe was on Nickelodeon. And I said, ‘Well, let’s stop the tape right here. What are we doing?’”

The Quiet on Set documentary featured several former actors and Nickelodeon employees detailing their experiences working with Dan Schneider, a creator and writer on multiple series, and discussing Drake Bell‘s sexual assault.

Summers claimed he walked out of the interview after he learned what it would actually entail.

“I left. So I got a phone call about six weeks ago saying you’re totally out of the show. And I went, ‘Great.’ Then they called me about four weeks ago and said, ‘Well, you’re in it, but you’re only in the first part of it because you talked about the positive stuff of Nickelodeon,’” Summers said. “What they didn’t tell me — and they lied to me about — was the fact that they put in that other thing where they had the camera on me when they ambushed me. And so, now we get into a whole situation about who’s unethical.”

DOUBLE DARE, Host Marc Summers w/ contestants
Photo: Nickelodeon

Summers clarified that he never knew or worked with Schneider, as his time at the network ended well before Schneider began working there.

“Those people came in after and took over our studios. I never met the man, I have no idea about any of those things,” he said. “I mean, I know Kenan [Thompson] from Kenan and Kel, because we’ve done stuff together. But as far as anything that happened on that show with any of those people, I never met any of them. I didn’t know anybody. But it made it seem like I knew those people.”

The former game show host claimed he plans to speak to the people involved soon. “Well, there’s a phone call coming today at 3 o’clock,” he said.

A bonus episode of Quiet on Set is scheduled to premiere this Sunday (April 7) on ID and stream on Max at 8/7c.

If you or someone you know needs to reach out about sexual abuse or assault, RAINN is available 24/7 at 800-656-HOPE (4673), or online at RAINN.org.