Meghan McCain Says She Once Yelled At ‘The View’ Co-Hosts For Failing To Associate With People Who Make Less Than $100,000

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Meghan McCain is continuing to dredge up her past on The View. On a recent episode of her Meghan McCain Has Entered the Chat podcast, she recalled yelling at her former colleagues over the wealth gap between them and their average viewers.

McCain was a controversial figure on The View, where she worked as the sole Republican co-host for four years between 2017 and 2021. Since leaving, she has been outspoken about her experience co-hosting alongside Whoopi Goldberg, Sara Haines, Sunny Hostin and Joy Behar.

“I had an experience while I was working at ABC News [on The View]. I was in a particularly heated Hot Topics meeting,” she said on her podcast. “I remember yelling at the meeting that, ‘Some of you’ or ‘All of you are going to have to start interacting with people who don’t make $100,000 a year or more. You have to interact with someone who makes minimum wage on some level or another.”

McCain added that her “experience working in much of corporate media” found her interacting with wealthy TV personalities who “live in $20 million Upper West Side mansions or apartments and then they take their Teslas to the Hamptons or Sag Harbor on the weekend with their family and then they come back.”

She continued, “That is their life every day and I think part of the rot in media is because they’re not talking to the working class.”

The blogger frequently opens up about her time on the long-running daytime talk show. After Ana Navarro appeared to call her out for using her famous last name to get ahead during a discussion about Hunter Biden in a December 2023 episode of The View, McCain threatened to take legal action — even though Navarro didn’t specifically name her.

Meghan McCain
Photo: Getty Images

“The thing about The View is that I didn’t know when I signed my contract with ABC that this is forever,” she said on the Your Welcome with Michael Malice podcast, per Deadline. “That, for the rest of my life, I’m going to be bullied, and yelled at, and abused, and brought up for years. I haven’t been on that show in years. I’m just trying to live my life.”

McCain continued, “I just didn’t know that when I signed to do this show that I have to deal with these crazy old people just yelling about me all of the time. I go whole swaths of time without thinking about them, like whole months without thinking about the show or anything. And, apparently, I am just on their minds every day. And it’s pathetic.”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.