Rebecca Ferguson’s Co-Stars Called Her After She Dropped A Blind Item About One Of Them Screaming On Set: “You Understand What You’ve Done, Right?”

Where to Stream:

Dune: Part 2

Powered by Reelgood

Rebecca Ferguson didn’t know what she was getting herself into following her recent explosive retelling of a previous co-star who she deemed “an absolute idiot.”

During a Feb. 27 appearance on the Reign with Josh Smith podcast, the actress opened up about a traumatic experience on set with an actor who she said was “number one on the call sheet.” While she didn’t identify the actor, nor the project, she recounted that “this human being was being so insecure and angry because this person couldn’t get their scenes out.”

“And I think I was so vulnerable and uncomfortable that I got screamed at,” she shared. “And I would cry walking off set. This person would literally look at me in front of the whole crew and say, ‘You call yourself an actor?! This is what I have to work with. What is this?!’”

On Sunday’s (April 14) installment of Sirius XM’s The Jess Cagle Show, Ferguson said she was “not expecting” the widespread speculation about who the anonymous actor may be, per Variety. While she confessed that she “kind of enjoyed the grab,” she revealed a realization of hers.

“But what I realized even at the age that I am now … it doesn’t matter,” she said. “I definitely think I’m much more open. I also know where my boundaries are. But the point of the interview wasn’t about finding the person — of course, people will be interested. But I was excited about the question, which was a very good question by [Josh Smith].”

She continued, “Because the point was: Is there a point in your career where you were treated in a way where you changed your decision on — this is how I formulated it in myself — where you want change, or you will not accept it? And it was such a clear moment for me working with this person.”

Nonetheless, she said she received “phone calls from amazing co-stars who [she’s] worked with going, ‘You understand what you’ve done, right?'”

“And I was like, ‘Oh my God. No, I didn’t think,’” she recalled. “I mean, it’s not my responsibility, to be honest. I don’t really care. You know, ‘You’re great, but my story is my story, and if you’re a good person, then don’t worry about it.’”

As for who the culprit may be, Ferguson ruled out both Hugh Jackman (The Greatest Showman) and Tom Cruise (Mission: Impossible) during her Feb. 27 interview.

Additionally, her Hercules co-star Dwayne Johnson showed his support on X, tweeting, in part, that Ferguson was his “guardian angel sent from heaven on [their] set.” Meanwhile, Emily Blunt (The Girl on the Train) claimed it was not her, either, in the following statement from her representative to The Daily Mail, per People: “Rebecca and Emily are friends and there’s nothing but love between them.”

When Cagle teased that “the person was Meryl Streep and everybody knows it,” Ferguson chuckled and quipped, “Dammit!”