Christina Applegate Says She Was Offered ‘RHOBH’ But Turned It Down: “I Would’ve Been In My Sweatpants And I’d Be Laying In Bed”

Where to Stream:

The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills

Powered by Reelgood

Christina Applegate nearly could’ve gone Bravo.

On Tuesday’s (April 16) installment of her MeSsy podcast with Jamie-Lynn Sigler, the Married… with Children alum shared that she “was asked to be a housewife for Beverly Hills,” estimating that she received the offer “probably ten years ago,” per Rolling Stone.

“And what’s funny is, I ended up becoming really good friends with the executive producer of it because our kids went to school together,” she explained. “And he’s like, ‘Oh yeah, we asked you.’ I said, ‘Chris, now that you know me, would I have been a fun housewife?’ He’s like, ‘No, it would’ve been the most boring shit I’ve ever seen in my life.’”

Applegate herself confirmed as much, telling Sigler and guest Martin Short that she “wouldn’t have shown up to any dinners.”

“I would’ve been in my sweatpants and I’d be laying in bed. What fun is that?” she said. “No, none of that. No, no. I would be the worst housewife, anyway.”

Both Applegate and Sigler have multiple sclerosis (MS) and started their joint MeSsy podcast on March 4, in which they “get vulnerable about the curveballs that life can throw,” per the podcast’s description.

Christina Applegate presenting at the 2024 Emmys
Photo: Getty Images

While the former was diagnosed in 2021, she revealed during a Good Morning America appearance last month that she had been experiencing symptoms of the chronic disease for years. However, Applegate didn’t get an official diagnosis until Selma Blair — her co-star in The Sweetest Thing who also has MS — recommended she get tested.

“She goes, ‘You need to be checked for MS.’ I said, ‘No…’ Really? The odds? Two of us from the same movie? C’mon, that doesn’t happen,” Applegate recalled to Robin Roberts. “She knew. If not for her, it could have been way worse.”

Applegate also made a triumphant appearance at this year’s Emmys, where she earned a standing ovation before presenting The Bear‘s Ayo Edebiri with Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series.

As for Applegate’s missed RHOBH gig, I bet Bette Midler is jealous. However, with Annemarie Wiley and Crystal Kung Minkoff announcing their respective departures from the series, who knows who might pop up next season?

The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills is streaming on Peacock.