Kelly Ripa And Mark Consuelos Recall His “Skinny Jean Phase” On ‘Live’: “Go Off, King!”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos talked style on this morning’s Live with Kelly and Mark, and revealed a particular fashion “phase” of Consuelos’.

It all went down after Consuelos brought up how “wide pants have gone mainstream for men,” prompting Ripa to exclaim to the audience, “Let’s see you, men! Stand up! Show me your wide pants!”

However, Consuelos clarified from his reading that “they can be easily skew[ed] sloppy.”

“So how to wear them well is very, very important,” he added.

As for what’s in Consuelos’ closet, while he began to say that he “do[es]n’t really have” wide pants, he noted that he has “two pairs of cords” he purchased at a “trendy place in Ann Arbor.”

“I like them and people give me compliments,” he shared. “I was happy when the pleats went away from like —”

Ripa chimed in, “You and [Live EP Michael] Gelman! You guys hate pleated pants. I love a pleated pant.”

Consuelos claimed, “On a woman, maybe, but on a guy, I don’t like a pleat.”

Ripa asserted, “I like a pleat on a guy, on a woman. I don’t care.”

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos on 'Live with Kelly and Mark'
Photo: ABC

Ripa continued her praise for pleats, telling Consuelos, “I love pleats. I think they’re a design detail. I like curtains.”

Following some laughter from the audience, Consuelos asked, “They remind you of curtains?”

Ripa added, “I love curtains. I love an old-school curtain.”

Consuelos confessed, “I do have some jeans in my wardrobe that I haven’t touched, or I forget. Like, I’m looking for a dark jean. I put ’em on, and they’re, like, leggings.”

While Ripa said she remembers his “legging pants,” Consuelos reiterated, ‘They’re very tight. Skinny jeans.”

Ripa teased, “Yes, you went through that skinny jean phase where I was like… OK. Go off, king!”

Consuelos said he “should probably let those go,” which Ripa countered, telling him, “You’ll never know when they’re going to come back.”

However, Consuelos said, “I think I’m of the age where I can’t wear skinny — I don’t really want to wear skinny jeans.”

Ripa was then reminded of a popular meme featuring a French bulldog “standing up against a wall.”

“You know, French bulldogs are, like, big at the top and they’re really skinny at the bottom,” she explained. “And they’re like, ‘Men over 40 wearing skinny jeans.'”

Consuelos conceded, “Yeah, same.”

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings.