Drew Barrymore Gushes Over Her Kids’ Stepmom: “I Am The President Of Her Fan Club”

Where to Stream:

The Drew Barrymore Show

Powered by Reelgood

Drew Barrymore has nothing but love for her ex-husband Will Kopelman’s wife Alexandra Michler. On this morning’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show, the actress-turned-talk show host gushed over their “beautiful dynamic” while chatting about step-parenting with Vice President Kamala Harris.

Barrymore shares daughters Olive, 11, and Frankie, 10, with Kopelman, who welcomed his first son with Michler in June 2023. “I, too, am in a beautiful dynamic. My children’s stepmother, Allie, I am the president of her fan club,” Barrymore told Harris at the top of today’s broadcast.

The 50 First Dates star then asked the Vice President about the day she met her husband Douglas Emhoff’s children.

“I remember it so well. It was probably one of the most special days of my life,” she said. “First of all, we kind of don’t use the term ‘step.’ I love Disney. However, Disney kind of messed that up for a lot of us over the years — you know, the evil step-parent. Their word for me is Momala.”

Harris and Emhoff dated for a while before she met his kids — and she explained why.

“His parents have been married 65 years. I am a child of divorced parents. And he didn’t fully understand what I understood in terms of my own lived experience,” she said. “Children create such attachment and until I was sure that he and I had something that was real, I didn’t want to do that to the kids.”

Harris said she finally met his kids at a restaurant of their choice, describing the experience as “the best day ever.”

'The Drew Barrymore Show'
Photo: CBS

Barrymore, on the other hand, has come a long way since her divorce, which she previously said was harder than being institutionalized as a teenager. During a 2021 episode of The Drew Barrymore Show, the star recalled spending Halloween with her ex-husband, their children and his new wife.

“I went trick-or-treating on Sunday with Will and his beautiful wife, Allie, my daughters’ wonderful stepmother,” she said. “I think, honestly, this is so ideal. It is the dream. And I love seeing this, I really do. It’s very positive.”

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays on CBS. You can check the website for local airtimes.