Jimmy Kimmel Wants To Testify In Donald Trump’s Trial: “I Need To Be In Court”

Where to Stream:

Jimmy Kimmel Live

Powered by Reelgood

Jimmy Kimmel is ready to put his legal hat on. After his interview with Stormy Daniels was brought up during Donald Trump‘s hush-money trial, the comedian jokingly offered to testify in court.

“I am very excited, I am very proud, I’m exhilarated even,” Kimmel said at the top of Thursday night’s (May 2) broadcast of Jimmy Kimmel Live.

He continued, “Because from here on, we aren’t just following the Donald Trump drama in New York, we are part of it now. We are part of the official record of The People vs. Donald Trump.”

The prosecutor in Trump’s case showed texts between Stormy Daniels’ former lawyer Keith Davidson, who was “surprised and concerned” about her 2018 appearance on the late-night show, and Trump’s then-lawyer Michael Coen that were exchanged while her interview with Kimmel was airing.

“I don’t want to brag, but it’s the first time a late-night talk show has been entered into evidence at the criminal trial for a president of the United States,” Kimmel joked. “Johnny Carson didn’t get that with Nixon. We got it here!”

Kimmel’s interview with Daniels came shortly after Trump delivered the State of the Union. He asked whether she actually signed the letter claiming she never had an affair with the former president, to which she “implied” that it wasn’t her signature.

However, Kimmel felt that lawyers probably should’ve shown his other 2018 interview with Daniels in which she played a game of “Which Orange Mushroom Looks Most Like Trump’s Junk.”

“This is why I need to be in court,” he said. “I’m sick of being out of the court; I want to be in it. Why was I not asked to testify? It’s outrageous!”

Kimmel’s day in court might be far-fetched — but the idea he pitched for Ryan Murphy‘s next true-crime series could be a bit more likely to happen.

“Suffice it to say that when Ryan Murphy makes the nine-part miniseries about this for [fuboTV], I will be in it,” he said. “I will assume someone like George Clooney or Chris Hemsworth will be playing me. Guillermo, you will be in it. You will be played by Pedro Pascal.”

Jimmy Kimmel Live airs on weeknights at 11:35/10:35c on ABC. Check out last night’s monologue above.