‘Live’s Kelly Ripa And Mark Consuelos Humbled By Their “Terrible” Art Skills After Painting Portraits Of Each Other: “We Should Not Quit Our Day Jobs”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos may have mastered the art of hosting a talk show, but were tested with another art form this week: painting.

Tuesday morning’s (May 7) installment of Live with Kelly and Mark featured the co-host couple trying out the viral Paint Your Spouse trend. The two were responsible for painting each other, but had not seen each other’s paintings ahead of this morning’s show.

Prior to the grand unveiling, Consuelos clarified that he’s “not an artist,” while Ripa said the same for herself.

“I was never good in art class,” he continued. “I couldn’t paint within the lines [or] color within the lines. SAT’s, I could never do the little circles.”

Ripa felt the same way as Consuelos, deeming them both “terrible artists.” She also made note of the lack of quality resources they were given to craft the portraits.

“What we were given to complete this assignment were brushes that fell apart when they hit the paint,” she explained, “and paint that was only in primary colors. So no skin tones at all.”

While Ripa said the painting “took [her] hours” to complete, Consuelos claimed he completed his in “about 15 more minutes” after yesterday’s show. Consuelos blamed that on Ripa being a “perfectionist,” but Ripa was still humbled by the experience.

“I’ll never walk into an art gallery again with such a cavalier attitude,” she said.

They eventually dimmed the lights, and Ripa was tasked with unveiling Consuelos’ portrait of her.

Kelly Ripa holding Mark Consuelos' portrait of her on 'Live with Kelly and Mark'
Photo: ABC

“That’s actually amazing!” Ripa gushed upon her first look at the canvas. “And I love the fact that you made my arms longer. You made me the me I wanna be.”

Consuelos pointed out other details of the painting, including Ripa’s yellow stilettos and her side part. Ripa continued her praise for the painting, telling Consuelos, “Honey, that is so impressive.”

When it became time for Ripa to show Consuelos her portrait of him, she issued a disclaimer: “I just want to say I apologize in advance because I know this is supposed to be how I see you through my eyes, but this is not how I see you!” she said.

After unveiling the portrait, Consuelos got a kick out of what he saw, and even attempted to imitate the expression for the cameras.

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos on 'Live with Kelly and Mark'
Photo: ABC

“Am I seeing the credit card bill or something?” he quipped.

Nonetheless, he told Ripa that “it’s handsome,” adding, “I’m very tan. I like it.”

Ripa replied, “Well, I had to mix the bright orange with the black to come up with your skin tone because there was no skin tone [pigment].”

Viewers even saw a clip of Ripa finishing up her painting at home while getting her hair dyed. Although Consuelos said Ripa “did a really good job,” Ripa eventually concluded, “We can both agree we should not quit our day jobs.”

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings.