“Real Martha” Who Allegedly Inspired ‘Baby Reindeer’ Regrets Appearing On Piers Morgan’s Show: “I Was Set Up”

Where to Stream:

Baby Reindeer

Powered by Reelgood

Fiona Harvey, the woman who allegedly inspired Martha’s character in the hit Netflix show Baby Reindeer, recently sat down for her first “big TV interview” with Piers Morgan after revealing her identity.

The interview aired Thursday (May 9) on Morgan’s YouTube show Piers Morgan Uncensored. After the show aired, Harvey told The Daily Record that Morgan’s line of questioning made her feel “set up.”

“There was a heavy emphasis from Piers Morgan on [Richard Gadd] and the emails I am supposed to have sent,” she said.

In the interview, Morgan pressed Harvey about the staggering amount of emails that the “real Martha” allegedly sent Gadd when she was stalking him. Gadd claims he received a whopping 41,071 emails from “Martha,” along with 744 tweets, 46 Facebook messages, 106 pages of letters and 350 hours of voicemail.

Harvey outrightly denied the claim to Morgan, claiming she sent “less than 10.”

“That’s simply not true. If somebody was sending somebody 41,000 emails or something, they’d be doing how many a day? Lots,” she told Morgan during the interview.

Harvey told The Daily Record, “I have my own thoughts on it that I’d like to keep to myself but I wouldn’t say I was happy. It was very rapid to try to trip me up. He did it fast paced to catch me off guard.”

“I said, ‘Look, Even if I had sent some emails, it doesn’t mean I’m guilty of the rest of the stuff. As I said, in order to bill something as a true story, it’s got to be pretty much 100% true,” she continued. “It seemed to me that I was set up. I feel a bit used.”

Harvey claimed she was paid £250 for the interview. “Piers said it went well. He referred to it as a sparring match. He landed a few punches on me and I landed a few punches on him. He asked me if I loved Richard Gadd and I said you’ve got to be joking,” she said.

Morgan announced the televised interview Wednesday (May 8) with a post on X, sharing one of the first public images of Harvey. Harvey’s identity and picture were first published by The Daily Record earlier that week.

In a statement about the interview provided to Decider, Morgan wrote: “I found her to be intelligent, quick-thinking, and combative. And on a human level, I felt sorry for her that she’s been publicly dragged through the mincer like this. Her general behaviour, on and off camera, with me and my team didn’t give any of us cause for concern about either her potential danger or her mental state, though it should be said that stalkers can be very convincing in their ability to hide their real personalities or obsessive intent … As for who is exploiting whom, I’ll leave that to the court of public opinion to decide.” 

Gadd has previously described the “real Martha” as having “severe mental health problems.” While speaking with Variety last month, he said the character of Martha needed to be “different” from reality for “legal reasons.”

Since Baby Reindeer premiered on Netflix in April, Harvey has said she in contemplating suing Gadd and Netflix for defamation.

Baby Reindeer is now streaming on Netflix.

If you or someone you know is struggling with their mental health, call or text the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) hotline at 800-950-NAMI (6264).