‘The View’s Whoopi Goldberg Hits Back At Trump After He Said Nobody “Wanted” Her: “I’m Not Going Anywhere”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Whoopi Goldberg may refuse to utter Donald Trump‘s name on The View, but that didn’t stop her from sharing a message to the one-term POTUS on this morning’s episode.

While discussing Trump’s bizarre remarks about The Silence of the Lambs character Hannibal Lecter during a campaign stop this weekend in New Jersey, Goldberg mentioned some other recent comments from Trump, which had been directed at her personally.

Admitting she was “a little agitated,” Goldberg told her co-hosts, “That man has something to say to me. He saw a meme, You-Know-Who saw a meme that said I was leaving the country.

“People always see these crazy memes that I’m gonna leave the country if he gets in [the White House],” Goldberg continued. “Somebody else thought I was leaving, was sending suggestions for people to take my place.”

Smiling, she looked right at the camera as she said, “Look. I’m not going anywhere, OK?” while the audience cheered. “And it’s not for the reason, you little snowflake, it’s not for the reason you think. He said nobody wanted me. Honey.”

Sunny Hostin jumped in to tell her, “We want you, Whoopi!” as her co-host defiantly added, “Well, you know what? It wouldn’t matter if no one here wanted me. But I know where I’m going to be because I’ve got a contract. So I’m going to be here where I’m wanted for the next couple of years.”

Whoopi Goldberg on The View
Photo: ABC

Also during the chat, the co-hosts attempted to decipher Trump’s praise for Hannibal Lecter, which included the remarks, “Has anyone ever seen The Silence of the Lambs? The late, great Hannibal Lecter. He’s a wonderful man. He oftentimes would have a friend for dinner.”

Goldberg reminded Trump that Hannibal was not a real person, noting, “we’ve had to make this point in the past,” while former Trump employee Alyssa Farah Griffin tried to explain that Trump’s comments were connected to the border crisis before she gave up altogether.

“I’m not going to attempt to get into Donald Trump’s mind,” she said.

Sara Haines joked that trying to understand Trump’s words felt like “analyzing a Taylor Swift album,” but Ana Navarro went a bit more extreme with her analogy, telling the panel, “I feel like I’m on acid.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.