Queue And A

‘Deal Or No Deal Island’ Winner Jordan Fowler Says It Was “Surreal” To Face Off Against Banker Howie Mandel: “He Was So Sassy”

Where to Stream:

Deal or No Deal Island

Powered by Reelgood

Who says nice guys (or girls) finish last? Deal Or No Deal Island star Jordan Fowler made history on Monday night by winning $1.23 million, the largest amount of money in Deal or No Deal‘s storied history. Fowler won over fans with her positive attitude, physical prowess, sweet nature, and her ability to stay above the fray in the battle between the Island’s most powerful alliances—Amy McCoy’s and Stephanie Mitchell’s Night Owls and “Boston” Rob Mariano’s and Aron Barbell’s Rob Mob. Being a “floater” is not a strategy that usually secures a win in most reality TV competition shows. However, in Fowler’s case, her ability to move seamlessly between the two groups was a real advantage. “It’s a very active strategy,” said Fowler. “People count getting along with people as super easy. It’s not easy.”

Also driving Fowler forward in the game was her desire to start a family with her husband. Fowler has PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome), a hormone disorder and leading cause of infertility. She suffered a devastating miscarriage before going to Banker’s Island. Now happily pregnant, Fowler can look back at that difficult time in her life. “I was just so disconnected with myself and so discouraged,” remembered Fowler. “It was a gift to be able to go on the show and have an opportunity to process all of that and to reconnect with myself.” Fowler fearlessly shared her story on Deal Or No Deal Island, giving voice to a community that rallies around its members. “The fact that my personal story is helping people is more than I could have ever imagined,” said Fowler. “It’s because of other women sharing their stories that I was even comfortable going on the show in the first place.”

As a longtime fan of Deal or No Deal, Fowler was the perfect player to face off against Banker (and EP) Howie Mandel in the gripping final game. In addition to the “bickering” with Banker Howie, Fowler said the best part of the experience was the “support” she received from the eliminated Islanders, even though she knew it “was hard for them.” “They wanted to be in my shoes,” said Fowler truthfully. Despite that, the backing from her fellow competitors made Fowler feel that the whole thing was “like a celebration.” “It was all of us together,” said Fowler.

Fowler spoke to DECIDER over Zoom to chat about her big win, her game strategy and whether she holds a grudge against McCoy for trying to sabotage her during their final excursion.

DECIDER: You accomplished everything you set out to achieve on Deal Or No Deal Island, including taking home the most money in Deal Or No Deal history. What’s it like to be the winner?

JORDAN FOWLER: Unbelievable. I’m still processing it. Looking back, I really did give it my all. Step one was just to get on the show, and then I was like, ”can I really do this?” These people are legit. I didn’t recognize Boston Rob at first, but I knew who he was, which was so funny in retrospect. I started to doubt myself. Two or three excursions in, I thought, “I stand just as good a chance as anyone else. I can really do this.” So, to be standing there at the end…I’ve never cried so much in the span of a few days. It was just one thing after another from top four to the top two to the final excursion to the face off with Howie to winning $1.23 million. I’m so humbled and so, so grateful.

Who was the first person you called after your big win?

We couldn’t tell anybody. That was the most wild, difficult thing ever. I think I should win an Academy Award for acting, truly. All my friends are like: “You had us so fooled. You said this was a watch party to celebrate us and not to get our hopes up about anything.” Initially after I played the final game, I got my phone back and Face Timed my husband. It was like 2:00 AM. I was like, “Hey, this was a really good experience. I had a great time. I’m excited to see you” and left it at that. Yesterday was the big reveal to everybody.

Jordan Fowler, Deal or No Deal Island
NBC

Jordan, I teared up when I saw that you were pregnant. What’s it been like to share your story of fertility issues with audiences?

I’m so glad I did it. At the beginning of the show, I wondered if I would feel comfortable and ready. I had a late term miscarriage right before we left to go to the Banker’s Island. I was just so disconnected with myself and so discouraged. I pride myself on my health and my physicality, but I just felt hopeless. It was a gift to be able to go on the show and have an opportunity to process all of that and to reconnect with myself. That’s why that final excursion meant so much to me, because it was like finally, I’m back in control. It was just the perfect way to sum up a wild journey.

Then, to have the messages of support coming in from women with PCOS or from those who have also experienced loss gave me hope too. I needed those stories. It’s because of other women sharing their stories that I was comfortable enough to go on the show in the first place. The fact that my personal story is helping people is more than I could have ever imagined. Hopefully, we can just continue to grow that community.

Speaking of that final excursion, I can’t say I loved Amy trying to sabotage you. In fact, I hated it. What was going through your mind when she was shaking the rope?

That final excursion was excruciating. It was so challenging. It was so hot. We were out there for a long time. So, I don’t blame her for taking any possible chance at an advantage because it was so difficult. The stakes were so high. The funny thing is that it was a lot easier for me when she was bouncing the rope with her foot than it was with her on it, which I told her in retrospect.

I don’t hold a grudge. You do what you’ve got to do. This game really teaches you to control what you can control and that you can’t change other people’s behaviors or perceptions.The game that you play better be one that you are damn proud of. I can say that at the end of the day, I am proud of the game that I played. I didn’t put other people down to make myself seem better. I really tried to follow my moral code, and it ended up working.

When I spoke to Rob earlier this season, he praised your strategy as a “floater” between the two groups—the Night Owls and the Rob Mob. What was your plan throughout the game?

The wild thing with being on the first season of a competition game show is that when we showed up, we didn’t know the rules. We had to think on the spot. I just called upon everything I learned from watching reality TV. There were two things I knew I wanted to do. Number one: kill it in the excursions. Be competitive, never be in the bottom two. Number two: never be anyone’s number one target. I knew If I could do those two things, that would get me far enough along on the competition, and eventually I planned to pivot in some capacity.

The thing is, it’s a very active strategy. I think people think that getting along with people is super easy. It’s not easy to go from one group that’s bad-mouthing your friends in another group and keep your mouth shut and then go over there and participate in a conversation with the other group. I was always on. I had to keep my story straight and remember which groups were targeting which people. There was a lot to manage.

Who do you think is the true mastermind of the Night Owls: Amy or Stephanie?

Interesting. I would say Amy because she was trying to control the group.That’s what made her the leader of the Night Owls. Stephanie was still in it for herself. She was still very much thinking individually. Amy was really in it for the group. She truly wanted the Night Owls to be the final people standing. She rallied the troops, and she made it. I’m so proud of her. I wasn’t kidding when I said I didn’t really want to be in the top two with her because she’s a fierce competitor. I knew she would bring her all.

As the last person standing, you got to greet the Banker—who turned out to be EP Howie Mandel. Were you shocked to see him step out of that helicopter?

Unbelievable. As he was walking towards me, I immediately pictured myself watching Deal or No Deal on the couch with my parents growing up. I also had friends who were case models and that were on the original show. It was unbelievable. After the initial shock wore off, all I could think about was getting a fist bump in there. That was my sign of making it. When I got the fist bump, I was like, “that’s another win for the day.”

Jordan Fowler and Howie Mandel, Deal or No Deal Island
NBC

Going into the final Deal or No Deal game, you made it very clear that you weren’t playing for yourself, you were playing for your family, and you were also playing for those 12 additional people. Who out of that group did you look to for strength and support?

That moment was so beautiful. I got that it was hard for them. They wanted to be in my shoes. Despite that, the support that I felt made the whole thing feel like it was a celebration. It was all of us together. Plus, there were all those large case values that they helped retrieved. They gave me an amazing board. I just felt so grateful and supported, and everyone was in it. Claudia was so into it. I swear Amy can see through cases. That is not a joke. It’s unbelievable. Don’t want that girl on too many Deal or No Deal game shows. They would be giving away a lot of money. Aron was so sweet, Nick was so helpful. Everyone just really wanted the best for me, and they didn’t have to feel that way.

Not only did you take home the most money in Deal or No Deal history, you also got to meet the Banker face to face. What was it like to face Banker Howie?

Banker Howie is on another level. He was so sassy, I couldn’t believe it. The game is stressful enough, but then you add his bickering back and forth? [laughs] But, it was so fun. We were all having a great time. It was so real and surreal at the same time. Nothing was scripted. No one told us what to say or what to do. And for me to be the one up there; I still can’t believe it. I’m speechless.