Tom Brady Says He Would Not Do A Netflix Roast Again: “I Didn’t Like The Way It Affected My Kids”

Where to Stream:

Roast of Tom Brady

Powered by Reelgood

Dozens of A-listers descended upon the Kia Forumearlier this month to roast NFL Hall of Famer Tom Brady. But many of the comedians and celebs who showed up to the Netflix comedy special appeared to believe that Brady’s ex-wife, supermodel Gisele Bündchen, and their kids were fair game.

Though comedian Nikki Glaser told Howard Stern after the roast that the comedians “all collectively just decided not to involve his kids too much in anything,” the comedians still took aim at Bündchen and actress Bridget Moynahan, who was pregnant with Brady’s son when they broke up in 2006. At one point during the roast, Glaser even joked about his divorce from Bündchen, saying, “You have seven rings. Well, eight now that Gisele gave hers back.”

Brady appeared almost apologetic when he later addressed the experience on the Pivot Podcast.

“I liked when the jokes were about me. I thought they were so fun,” he said, before adding, “I didn’t like the way they affected my kids.”

Brady shares a 16-year-old son with actress Bridget Moynahan and two kids with Bündchen. He and Bündchen separated in 2022 after 13 years of marriage.

 “I wouldn’t do that again because of the way that it affected actually the people that I care about the most in the world,” he continued.

Tom Brady Gisele Bundchen
Photo: Andrew H. Walker

This admission comes after a source close to Bündchen claimed she felt “deeply disappointed by the disrespectful portrayal of her family on Sunday evening’s roast show.”

“As always, [Bündchen’s] priority is to support her children who were affected by the irresponsible content that was broadcasted,” a source told People.

On the podcast, Brady said the roast was certainly a learning experience for him as a father. Some of the jokes appeared to be a major wake-up call for the NFL star, who said the experience “makes you in some ways a better parent going through it. Sometimes you’re naive. You don’t know.”

He added, “I’m going to be a better parent as I go forward because of it. At the same time, I’m happy everyone who was there had a lot of fun. If we’re not laughing about things, we’re crying.”

The Roast of Tom Brady is streaming now on Netflix.