Drew Barrymore Jokes That It’s “So Much Easier” To Hate People “When They’re Dead”

Where to Stream:

The Drew Barrymore Show

Powered by Reelgood

If anyone can get a person to reveal how they really feel about their in-laws on national television, it’s Drew Barrymore.

On this morning’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show, the actress-turned-talk show host sat down with Will Forte, who joked about the internet’s belief that Saturday Night Live star Chloe Fineman is the female version of him.

“It gives me hope for my daughters who have a lot of my facial characteristics,” he said.

Forte and Barrymore then bonded over the fact that they are both parents to two daughters. But that’s not all they had in common! Forte revealed that his one daughter’s middle name is Douglas, which is the same name as Barrymore’s dog.

“It is my brother-in-law’s name and my father-in-law’s name and grandfather-in-law,” Forte said, to which Barrymore fired back, “Oh my God, so you love your wife’s family?”

Forte assured the host that his in-laws are “great,” prompting her to gush over how lucky he is.

“That is so wonderful. It’s huge and it’s so important. Because it’s true there are some — I mean, they make movies about it,” she said, before turning to the audience and asking, “Who here, you won’t want to admit this I know it, but no one’s looking at you right now — who here would rather just run for the hills because of their in-laws?”

'The Drew Barrymore Show'
Photo: CBS

One woman named Margaret immediately shot her hand into the air.

“My mother-in-law and father-in-law pretty much … um … my husband is Filipino. I’m not. That’s all,” she admitted when Barrymore asked why she raised her hand. “But I do love my sisters-in-law. Because they’re still alive so I have to say that.”

Margaret’s blunt honesty had the entire room in hysterics.

“Right. Exactly. It’s so much easier when they’re dead. There’s a dump truck coming,” Barrymore joked, before Forte added, “Everybody you hate, just be dead!”

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays on CBS. You can check the website for local airtimes.