Bill Maher Pushes Back Against Joy Behar’s Suggestion That Trump Supporters Put Swastikas On Their MAGA Hats On ‘The View’: “You Can’t Hate Everybody Who Likes Him”

Where to Stream:

The Drew Barrymore Show

Powered by Reelgood

Joy Behar was forced to walk back her remarks after Bill Maher called her out for suggesting that Donald Trump‘s supporters put a swastika on their MAGA hats.

On this morning’s episode of The View, the co-hosts opened the show with a Hot Topics segment surrounding Trump’s latest controversy. The former POTUS is being accused of “parroting Nazi propaganda” in a social media video that claims he wants to create a “unified Reich” if he wins the 2024 presidential election.

However, his campaign says it wasn’t his video and was instead reposted by a staffer who didn’t notice the word.

“Let me give the definition of Reich: the German state, especially during the Nazi period,” Behar said. “So there’s no wishy-washiness about the word Reich. It’s about the German-Nazi state of the 20th century.”

Behar also pointed to other times Trump has used Nazi statements, like when he called his political enemies “vermin” and claimed immigrants were “poisoning the blood” of the country.

“That hat that you keep wearing, that red hat that says ‘Make America Great Again,’ that tells people that you go along with this. So you might as well just put a swastika on the hat. We see it anyway,” she concluded, while Sara Haines quickly chimed in, “Don’t do that!”

Behar’s comment was brought back up during the panel’s interview with Maher, who has been openly critical of both the Republican and Democratic parties.

“I’m not gonna defend Donald Trump ever but I would never say that we should put the swastika on the cap because I think you can hate Donald Trump, you can’t hate everybody who likes him,” Maher said. “That’s half the country. I don’t want to live in that country. I don’t want to live in a country where I hate half the country. And I don’t hate half the country.”

Behar then jokingly replied, “How dare you disagree with me.”

'The View'
Photo: ABC

The duo’s conversation continued during the commercial break, prompting Maher to defend Behar when they returned.

“Joy is a wonderful human being and she should not be afraid that people are going to attack her because she said the thing about the swastika on the cap,” he told the audience. “As you said to me in the break, you do not think that all the people who are for Trump are Nazis.”

Behar clarified that she doesn’t equate all Trump supporters to Nazis, though wanted his followers to “pay attention to words like vermin and poisoning of the blood and the Third Reich.”

“I have some in my family. I don’t think they’re Nazis,” Behar said, to which Maher replied, “OK, great. I’m glad we got that — I don’t want you hurt in the supermarket.”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.