Kelly Osbourne Calls Out Giuliana Rancic’s “Racist Comment” About Zendaya On ‘Fashion Police’: “I Don’t Wanna Work With Someone Like That”

Kelly Osbourne called out her former Fashion Police co-host Giuliana Rancic during a recent episode of her podcast – and she did not hold back.

Joined by her family on The Osbournes Podcast, Kelly fondly looked back on her time starring on the E! fashion talk show Fashion Police with Joan Rivers, which she said was “the best job I’ve ever had.”

But Kelly did not have such nice things to say about Rancic when her mother Sharon Osbourne brought her up.

“We don’t need to give her any fucking anything,” Kelly replied when Sharon mentioned her.

Kelly’s brother, Jack Osbourne, then mentioned that Kelly and Rancic got into a dispute after Rancic commented that Zendaya looked like she “smells like patchouli oil or weed” after the Challengers actress appeared on her first Oscars red carpet with faux locs in 2015.

“One of the co-hosts of the show made a really kind of a fucking racist comment about her hair, and nothing happened to the woman that that made the comment,” Jack explained, referring to Rancic.

He continued, “And then Kelly kind of took the stand of, like, ‘That’s fucked up. I don’t wanna work with someone like that.’ And then it somehow got turned around that Kelly said the comment, but Kelly didn’t say the comment.”

Kelly added that the experience made her reflect on whether she wanted to continue on Fashion Police without Rivers, who passed away in 2014.

“It turned into this whole thing, and it made me take a long hard look at where I was, and it made me realize that I didn’t wanna be there without Joan,” she said. She later revealed that her biggest regret was that the show was canceled soon after Melissa Rivers, Joan’s daughter, joined as a co-host.

Kelly even clarified on Twitter in 2015 that she was not the one who had made the comment. “I DID NOT MAKE THE WEED COMENT. I DO NOT CONDONE RACISM SO AS A RSULT OF THIS IM SEREIOULSY QUESTIONONIG STAYING ON THE SHOW!” she wrote at the time.

Kelly Osbourne Zendaya Giuliana Rancic
Photo: Rodin Eckenroth/ Steve Granitz/WireImage/Nick Tininenko/Getty

Two days after she made the remarks, Rancic apologized on-air for the comment she made, saying, “I want to say to Zendaya, and anyone else out there that I have hurt, that I am so, so sincerely sorry. This really has been a learning experience for me. I’ve learned a lot today, and this incident has taught me to be a lot more aware of clichés and stereotypes, how much damage they can do – and that I am responsible, as we all are, to not perpetuate them further.”

Zendaya responded with a statement shared on Twitter. “I appreciate your apology and I’m glad it was a learning experience for you and for the network. I hope that others negatively affected by her words can also find it in their hearts to accept her apology as well,” she said at the time, per The Hollywood Reporter.

Fashion Police ran on E! from 2010 to 2017.