Quinta Brunson Blames Drew Barrymore For Making Her “Teary” While Talking About Her Honorary Doctorate: “It’s Your Energy”

Where to Stream:

The Drew Barrymore Show

Powered by Reelgood

There’s just something about Drew Barrymore that makes celebrities feel safe enough to cry on national television. On this morning’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show, Quinta Brunson became teary-eyed as she opened up about receiving an honorary doctorate from Temple University.

The Abbott Elementary star told Barrymore that she attended Temple for three years before she left early and began working in the entertainment industry.

“My mom really wanted me to finish. She really wanted me to be the first college graduate of the family,” she said. “And I really wanted to finish too but when I moved to LA, I started working and things kind of took off for me. And it just put my career in a different direction very fast so I didn’t make it back to school.”

Despite Brunson’s success, she said her mom still wanted to see her walk down that aisle and accept her diploma.

“After winning any awards, she was like, ‘That’s great. When are you gonna get this college degree though?'” Brunson revealed. “I was like, ‘Mom, I think I’m arguably more successful than anybody that went to my school in the past 10 years but sure.'”

Everything came together for Brunson and her mother when Temple reached out to offer her an honorary doctorate at this year’s graduation ceremony.

'The Drew Barrymore Show'
Photo: CBS

“That was a big deal for me and for my family to be able to come there and actually come to a graduation ceremony,” she said, before becoming emotional over the full-circle moment — and blaming Barrymore in the process.

“I’m getting a little teary,” she said as she turned to the talk show host and added, “It’s because of you — your energy, it’s making me teary, the way you’re looking at me.”

The camera then panned to Barrymore, who seemed to have tears welling up in her eyes as well.

“But it was really nice,” Brunson concluded of the ceremony. “It was beautiful.”

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays on CBS. You can check the website for local airtimes.