Queue And A

Shay Mitchell Combines Her Love Of Travel And Beverages With New Max Series ‘Thirst’: “Connections Are Made From Cheersing”

Where to Stream:

Thirst with Shay Mitchell

Powered by Reelgood

Actress, jet setter, mogul Shay Mitchell is always ready to make a toast. In the midst of overseeing her Beis empire—the travel brand she founded and for which she serves as chief brand officer—or supervising Onda—the tequila brand she founded in 2020—Mitchell managed to embark on a new project for globe trotters and cocktail enthusiasts like herself with the travel docuseries Thirst. Essentially, Mitchell and her team have created a television hybrid: eco-consumables tourism. Instead of food, the series explores the culture and history of countries in South America (Peru, Columbia, Argentina and Brazil) through the lens of beverages.

When Mitchell noticed that drinks were not represented in food/travel TV spaces, she jumped into action. She explained: “When people ask, ‘How did you think of it?’ I answer, ‘How did anyone not?'” Who doesn’t want to watch the effervescent Mitchell travel to exotic locations, try beverages with unique ingredients, and hang out with the locals? “The show is not just about the drinks,” said Mitchell. “We dive in deeper.” In each episode, Mitchell takes audiences all over the countries she visits, from remote villages to bustling epicenters, and connects with a wide array of people in each place. “What connects people more than breaking bread is sharing a toast,” pointed out Mitchell wisely.

In filming Thirst, Mitchell chooses to continuously break the fourth wall, talking directly to her crew members, pausing production so she can change her outfit or even making her sound guy sample her drink mid-meal. “We don’t need to hide the fact that I’m shooting a show,” said Mitchell. Mitchell’s refreshingly “unfiltered” hosting style keeps audiences interested while celebrating her collaboration with and connection to the crew that helps bring Thirst to screens. “I loved including the people that were traveling and creating this show with me in the final product,” said Mitchell.

DECIDER spoke to Mitchell over Zoom about the impetus for the show, her ability to hold her liquor (to which she credits her Irish heritage) and how she packed for this month-long adventure.

DECIDER: Thirst fills such a unique gap in the culinary show/ travel series world. No other creator is looking at the cocktail/beverage space.

SHAY MITCHELL: No, it’s insane. When people ask, “How did you think of it?” I answer, “How did anybody not?” There are a million and one food shows out there, and I watch so many of them. However, when we eat, or at least when I eat, I have a beverage next to me. I have found so much interesting information about how certain beverages—both alcoholic and non-alcoholic—gained popularity and cultural relevance.

How would you classify your show?

Thirst is about exploring local culture and history through the drinks that are popular in a specific location. The people in each community we visited favored certain ingredients when they concocted local beverages, which I found so interesting. When I was creating Onda, I actually got to be at the distillery and see the whole tequila-making process. I have been drinking tequila for how many years, and I had no idea how it was made. I thought to myself, “there have to be a million interesting ways that people create these different spirits, teas, and wines.” That experience really planted the seed for Thirst.

Shay Mitchell, Thirst
Max

This show celebrates the history and traditions behind a number of popular beverages in the countries you visit. In Peru alone, you go beyond distilleries and restaurants to take in Peruvian salt flats, an ancient Incan tea ceremony, and root vegetable wine.

Yes, I remember asking, “why is the salt so good on the rim of the drink?” Before I knew it, we were taken to these ancient salt flats where a specific type of salt was harvested. The show is not just about the drinks. We’re getting to learn about the ingredients that go into them.

When you try the Bloody Mary in Peru, you say it reminds you of a Caesar from Canada. For a moment, viewers can see you transported back home in your mind. Do you think people underestimate the power of a good cocktail?

I do because arguably what connects people more than breaking bread is sharing a toast. That is what we are doing on this show. We are making connections by sharing a drink or even just a coffee. Beverages can evoke strong memories, as well. I saved corks from special wine bottles that bring me back to a past celebration or a birthday. As you said, when I had that sip, I instantly thought of home.

On the show, you’re refreshingly candid. You say exactly what you’re thinking and feeling in the moment. How would you describe your hosting style?

Unfiltered. I think the whole show is that way. I’m not hiding that a camera crew is shooting everything. I’m handing off shots and things that I’m eating to anybody in the crew. I love that. I love including the people who are also traveling and creating this show with me. Shooting a travel show was very different from anything I had done before. I’m used to being on a set with 200 people, and here I was traveling with a very small, tight-knit crew.

I also was, unfortunately, sick for the first three episodes. Everybody knew that and was incredibly supportive. They encouraged me and were quick to laugh with me when I was trying a food or drink that maybe was not so delicious. I knew I wanted to highlight the crew, which I hadn’t seen in other travel-oriented shows. People don’t want to see perfect and polished productions anymore because nothing is perfect.

The crew was certainly quick to support you in Peru when you kept encountering dozens upon dozens of guinea pigs. Did no one warn you about them beforehand?

They didn’t [laughs]. However, even if I had been given a heads up and watched videos, seen photos, etc, nothing would have prepared me for the number of guinea pigs I saw in that that small room. I don’t want to be in a room with 200 of anything. The noise that they made probably freaked me out the most. They make this chirping noise. I love and respect animals, but I don’t need to be immersed with them.

Shay Mitchell, Thirst
Max

Jumping ahead to the Columbia episode, we see you sip 6 cocktails over the course of an elaborate, locally-sourced meal. How did you manage to handle your liquor while doing your job as host?

I have to thank my grandfather, who is Irish. I have Irish blood, so I can handle my drinks. I also have Spanish blood, so I can get a little spicy and fiery too. It’s that fun combo. Listen, did I finish every drink? Maybe [laughs]. They were very delicious there. However, I knew that after that dinner, we were going to be salsa dancing. Columbia was the last country that we shot in. I was feeling a lot better than I had felt in the previous countries. I was feeling good. The drinks were incredible. I had amazing company and the food was delicious. You pick and choose your moments. I’m never wild and crazy anymore. I’m in my thirties. Though, if I don’t have an early call time the next day and the drinks are that good, I’m going to enjoy myself. And I definitely did.

As the Beis founder, I have to ask: how did you pack for the series?

Oh, I had five suitcases. One for each country and then a suitcase for accessories. I’m not afraid to over pack. I am an over packer. I’m never going to be a carry-on girl. I’ve accepted it.

Any particular Beis products you want to shout out?

I brought everything. I was doing my makeup on this show, so my makeup kit came with me everywhere. I patted myself on the back with that one because the mirror I had designed made everything so easy. The Weekender bag held all of my key items. I was able to use everything that I’ve created with my team, and they saw how easy Beis products make traveling. I felt organized, which is great.

Did the series change how you stock your bar cart? What did you bring home with you?

I brought Pisco because I love a Pisco Sour now. I brought back Cachaça from Brazil. Fantastic. I also have the Peruvian potato wine that I’m going to enjoy when I get back.

Shay Mitchell, Thirst
Max

Are you excited for your daughters to watch Thirst someday?

Absolutely. It was difficult to be away for a month from my five-month-old daughter and my other young daughter. I was hesitant to leave home. Prior to having kids, I could be on the road forever. I really hope that one day they I understand that I really do follow through with my passions and the things that fuel me. I feel fortunate to have work and interests that fulfill me. When I come back, especially from traveling, I have so much more to give to everybody around me. I missed them while I was away, but I know they felt that enormous amount of love when I came back.

I think they are going to be proud of you and everything you’ve accomplished with Thirst.

I feel very grateful that I am able to do these things, including having Beis and Onda. With Thirst, I was able to combine my love of beverages and travel. I did Shaycations back in the day when I was filming Pretty Little Liars, and I loved that so much too. With Thirst, I was fortunate to be able to travel to so many interesting and share my experiences in a different format. I think that’s why the Thirst billboard in LA was thrilling to see. This show was an idea that [Co-Executive Producer] Kayleigh [Rocheck] and I had worked on four years ago. To see it come to fruition is just amazing.