Susan Lucci Says She Turned Down ABC For ‘The Golden Bachelorette’

Where to Stream:

The Golden Bachelor

Powered by Reelgood

Susan Lucci, who is most known for portraying Erica Kane on All My Children, says she turned down an offer from ABC to be The Golden Bachelorette.

The 77-year-old former soap star says ABC reached out to her about potentially becoming the very first star of The Golden Bachelorette but she said no.

“I believe that they contacted my publicist and it wasn’t for me,” Lucci told PEOPLE.

But, she added, “I really enjoyed watching The Golden Bachelor. This is a new addiction for me.”

Although she says she likes watching reality TV she ultimately decided not to “pursue” the gig.

“It wasn’t for me,” she said, “but I do love watching.”

According to EW, Lucci was not actually in the running for the role despite her claims.

ABC announced earlier this month that Joan Vassos, who appeared as a contestant on The Golden Bachelor during Gerry Turner‘s season, would be the very first Golden Bachelorette.

The 60-year-old private school administrator had to depart The Golden Bachelor early to help her daughter who was suffering from postpartum issues.

“I don’t want to leave our journey,” she told Gerry at the time, “but I’ve got to be a parent.”

The Golden Bachelor concluded on November 30, 2023, and Turner married 70-year-old Theresa Nist on January 4, 2024, during a live wedding special dubbed The Golden Wedding. The newlyweds divorced just three months later.

While ABC has yet to announce a premiere date for The Golden Bachelorette, it has revealed that the series will consist of 90-minute episodes that will air on Wednesdays at 8 p.m. ET.