Drew Barrymore Says She’s Been Trying To Create A ‘Wizard of Oz’ Prequel For 28 Years: “It Feels Very Personal To Me”

Where to Stream:

The Wizard of Oz

Powered by Reelgood

Drew Barrymore‘s got a dream that has somehow been lost somewhere over the rainbow.

The Drew Barrymore Show host recently shed light on Surrender Dorothy, a prequel to The Wizard of Oz that she revealed to Us Weekly as “the script” she’s “been trying to get made” for 28 years under her production company, Flower Films.

“When we first started Flower Films, it was one of the first scripts I fell in love with and we developed it,” she noted. “So it feels very personal to me.”

She and Nancy Juvonen, Jimmy Fallon‘s wife, founded the company in 1995. As for the status of the project, Barrymore claimed that the script is probably “lying in a vault somewhere.” However, she still expressed interest in creating the film.

“As a director, I would give anything to [make] that,” she explained. “And then as an actor, it was sort of not really available to me for many years. And I did try, but [it] wasn’t feeling right for me.”

Earlier this month, Barrymore shared with Us Weekly that, now that they’re older, her two daughters are supportive of her possible return to acting.

Ray Bolger, Judy Garland, Bert Lahr, and Jack Haley in 'The Wizard of Oz'
Photo: Everett Collection

“I think the girls are like, ‘Yeah, mom, we’re doing great. If you want to go do that, go back and do things,'” she said at the time. “Getting that permission from them was really huge and sort of opened up my mind, so we’ll see.”

As for what kind of projects may be under way, fans will just have to wait and see. However, last December, Barrymore explained her inclination toward rom-coms and more lighthearted fare on The Drew Barrymore Show, noting that she “never really wanted to make dark films.”

“I just thought that I would live a happier life if I was telling happier stories because I feel like at the end of even a good day, let alone [a] hard day, we’ve gotta have something there that’s more joyful,” she added.

For anyone in need of a little nostalgia, The Wizard of Oz is streaming on Max.