Alfonso Ribeiro Shades Tyler Perry On Social Media: “I Don’t Need Or Ever Want That Man To Do Anything For Me”

Where to Stream:

Dancing With the Stars

Powered by Reelgood

Since starring on The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, Alfonso Ribeiro has become a beloved television personality as host of Dancing with the Stars and America’s Funniest Home Videos. But when one fan on social media asked the star to team up with Tyler Perry to revive his career, Ribeiro shocked many with his response.

“I don’t need or ever want that man to do anything for me,” he wrote on X, the platform formerly known as Twitter.

He did not clarify what he meant exactly by the statement, but Ribeiro has worked with the prolific filmmaker before. He directed 12 episodes of Perry’s sitcom Meet the Browns between 2009 and 2010.

Needless to say, fans were shocked by Ribeiro’s bold response.

“What does he know that we don’t?” one fan asked on X.

“‘That man’ sounds like there’s more you need to get off your chest. Tell us, this is a safe space,” another commented.

Decider has reached out to Ribeiro and Perry’s reps for further comment.

Ribeiro has done some acting since Fresh Prince ended in 1996 after six seasons, but he recently revealed that he felt like playing Carlton Banks was “a sacrifice” he made for his career.

“I used to always say doing Carlton was the greatest and worst thing that ever happened to me,” he told Closer earlier this month. “It was one of the greatest roles that I ever was fortunate enough to play, but it was also the role that stopped me from acting again because people couldn’t see me as anything else. The sacrifice was not having an acting career anymore.”

He added, “I’m enjoying being a host and am very happy with it. But, yes, I would go back to acting if it was exactly the right thing.”

It looks like Ribeiro will not be working with Perry any time soon.