Ross Mathews Has Snarky Reaction To Drew Barrymore Explaining Her Family History: “Nobody Asked”

Where to Stream:

The Drew Barrymore Show

Powered by Reelgood

Drew Barrymore has been brushing up on her family history. The talk show host, who comes from a long line of actors, revealed where her name came from on this morning’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show.

Ahead of a Drew’s News segment about Philadelphia, Barrymore told co-host Ross Mathews that “a lot” of her family members are buried in the Pennsylvania city.

“The Barrymores came from Ireland to Pennsylvania. But not just the Barrymores, they married into a family called the Drews,” she explained. “So that’s why my name is Drew Barrymore.”

Barrymore continued, “My grandmother Georgiana Drew and her father John Drew were big into the theater and then she married Maurice Barrymore. And so the Drew and the Barrymore are from the two names of my family.”

Just when Mathews thought story time was over, Barrymore offered some more insight into Maurice Barrymore’s background.

“His real name was Herbert Blythe, which is why my name is Drew Blythe Barrymore, and he was born in Agra, India,” she said, to which Mathews finally replied, “Well, and I — nobody asked. Isn’t that wonderful?”

The actress threw her head back laughing, noting that Mathews was “absolutely right” before admitting what she once did when she visited her family’s graves.

“I did lay down at their graves and I hung out,” she said, adding, “Guess what? I also broke into the cemetery after hours. Can you imagine me breaking the rules?”

'The Drew Barrymore Show'
Photo: CBS

It’s not often that Barrymore opens up about her family, though she did describe her late father as “such an odd bird” during a March episode of The Drew Barrymore Show.

“I mean, he didn’t wear shoes, he was out to lunch, philosophical, wore his tie as a belt — but he just was always like, ‘Just live and let live, man,'” she said. “More of that, please.”

Barrymore added, “I’m using a very bizarre example of a human, who’s nobody’s poster child of how to live a life. But ‘just live and let live, man’ was one of the best gifts he ever taught me, the little I was around him.”

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays on CBS. You can check the website for local airtimes.