‘Today’: Jenna Bush Hager Says Her Mom Thought She Had Been “Hacked By China” After Jenna Tried A TikTok Trend That “Didn’t Make Sense”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

Parents just don’t get it. Jenna Bush Hager revealed on Today that her mother became concerned for her after she shared a video on social media of herself trying a popular TikTok trend.

You may have seen the popular TikTok before, which has since been turned into a ubiquitous techno song: “I’m looking for a man in finance, trust fund, 6’5, blue eyes.”

After Hoda Kotb noted how “catchy” the song is, Bush Hager explained that she used the song to promote one of her Read With Jenna book club picks on Instagram.

“I don’t know what’s big on TikTok, I’m a mom, okay? But this was going trendy so they had me do this for a book, and my mom called and she thought I’d been hacked by China. She goes, ‘Jenna, something is up with your Instagram,'” she recalled with a laugh.

“I don’t even post the instagram, so I had to go to the Instagram, I had to take a look, and I understand why there was confusion to be had,” she continued. “Because I am talking about a book to ‘6’5, blue eyes, finance.’ And it’s me talking about a book! How does that make sense?”

Kotb could not help but laugh at her co-host.

“The look of your mom sweeping in to save you, ‘Sweetie, China’s hacked you,'” she said.

After the Today host recounted the funny story with her mom on the air this morning, fans flooded the comments of her original post trying out the trend to say they “understand why Mom would have been concerned.”

This isn’t the first time the Today hosts have made fun of an online trend. They recently criticized a growing dating trend that was inspired by the stars of the Zendaya-led sports drama ChallengersJosh O’Connor and Mike Faist.

“People are saying they look like cartoon mice. I mean we’re not, by the way,” she said, as Kotb added, “This is not a slam at all, it’s the opposite.”

Bush Hager later joked, “No, this means you should want to date Stuart Little. Stuart Little is actually quite attractive, right? He’s handsome.”

She and Kotb later complained that the problem with this trend is that it means your “hot rodent boyfriend” can “fit into your jeans.”

“The hot rodent boyfriend can be good for some, it’s just not for me,” Bush Hager declared.  

Today with Hoda & Jenna airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.