Hoda Kotb Jokes That She Would Get Into A “Cage Match With Gayle King” Over Lenny Kravitz On ‘Today With Hoda & Jenna’

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

Hoda Kotb has clearly seen Mean Girls and knows that it’s totally not cool to make a move on a guy your friend is into. In this case, the guy is Lenny Kravitz and the friend is Gayle King.

During a segment on this morning’s Today with Hoda and Jenna, the hosts were discussing Kravitz, who has been in the news for a recent hilarious interview with King on CBS Mornings.

King probed into the musician’s love life by asking him, “Do you have a significant other in your life? And can I beat her ass if she is?” then adding, “Oops, did I say that out loud?”

Bush Hager began Monday’s Today segment by saying, “Lenny Kravitz – he turned sixty. Wait, he’s your exact age?” while addressing Kotb, who confirmed, “Almost exactly.”

Bush Hager then asked, “Do you think you and Lenny would be a match?”

Kotb then riffed perfectly, “Here’s the thing, you’d really have to go at a cage match with Gayle King to get it,” while Bush Hager replied, “Gayle King interviewed him, it’s my favorite interview I’ve ever seen.”

Kotb laughed, “She was just like, ‘I want it, give me it!'”

Gayle King and Lenny Kravitz on 'CBS Mornings'
Photo: TikTok/ @cbsmornings

The hosts then discussed a separate interview Kravitz gave in which he admitted to being celibate for a decade.

“I feel like he’s very in tune with himself,” Kotb said, later adding, “You have to ask yourself, and I’ve thought about this too, what do you have room for? That’s what he’s asking himself. What do I have room for, what do I want?… He’s been on this kind of spiritual journey, so I’m sure he needs someone like-minded, he seems so indifferent to all the whatever, the fame, the whatever he has, he likes to live off the beaten path.”

Bush Hager told her co-host, “I could see y’all going to a gym, you’d be wearing workout clothes, he’d be wearing leather, and just going after it, referencing a recent video that showed Kravitz working out in leather pants.

Just watch your step, Hoda, because Gayle might be lurking behind the leg press machine.