7M Dancer Miranda Derrick Slams Netflix’s “One-Sided” ‘Dancing For The Devil’ Doc, Insists She Is “Not Being Abused”

Where to Stream:

Dancing for the Devil: The 7M TikTok Cult

Powered by Reelgood

In Netflix‘s new docuseries Dancing For The Devil: The 7M TikTok Cult, dancer Melanie Wilking and several other performers who rose to fame on TikTok call out the 7M management company as a religious cult that entraps young performers, isolating them from their families, while promising them religious salvation and profiting from their talents.

Wilking and her sister Miranda Derrick used to perform together, but fell out after Derrick joined 7M and grew distant from her family. Derrick is now speaking out against the documentary and refuting claims that she has been brainwashed to stay with 7M. She says that she has simply found faith, something her family doesn’t understand.

Wilking and her family claim that Derrick grew apart from her family after signing with Los Angeles-based 7M Films, a talent management agency owned by pastor Robert Shinn. Derrick went on to marry another dancer managed by 7M, James (BDash) Derrick, and in the time since then, she became estranged from her family. The Wilkings have claimed that Shinn and 7M are manipulating and controlling Derrick and the other dancers under him.

Neither Shinn nor Miranda appears in the Netflix series, but yesterday, Miranda released a statement on Instagram with her side of the story. In the post, she denies being a part of a cult, and refers to the Netflix doc as “one-sided.”

Miranda Derrick Statement
Photo: Instagram

“I love my Mom, Dad and Melanie and they will forever be a part of my life. The truth is, we just don’t see eye to eye at this time. I believe that this documentary is a one-sided story,” she wrote. “I gave my life to Jesus Christ in 2020 and asked my family for some space in the very beginning to collect my thoughts and process my new walk I wanted to take with God.”

Miranda claims her sister Melanie then locked her out of their shared social media page, WilkingSisters, and her family became angry with her for practicing her newfound faith in front of them, leading her to ask them for space and calling them “overbearing and chaotic,” and adding that she felt “threatened” by her family.

Miranda added, “I would have preferred that my family’s circumstances remain private. I’m forced and feel like I have no other choice but to defend myself because of all of this. I can’t convince anyone to believe anything. I am just a woman trying to live my life. I am not a victim, I am not in any harm, I am not being abused. I’ve never asked my family or anyone else to ‘help’ me in any way. Respectfully, what I choose to do with my life is up to me.”

Dancing With The Devil: The 7M TikTok Cult is now streaming on Netflix.