Charles Barkley to Retire From TV Broadcasting After Next Year

It’s officially the end of an era. Last night on NBA TV after Game 4 of the NBA Finals, Hall of Fame baller turned beloved sports analyst Charles Barkley announced that he will retired from television following the 2024-2025 NBA season.

The 61-year-old’s exit will come just as Warner Bros. Discovery’s media rights deal with the NBA expires at the end of 2025. While TNT Sports’ future with the NBA remain uncertain, Barkley appeared steadfast in his decision to walk away after a successful and multi-Emmy Award winning career in media after 25 years.

“I really love TNT, all the people who work here, NBA Television. You guys have been great to me for 24 years and I just want to say thank you to my entire NBA family. I love you guys,” Barkley began before asserting he would not be leaving TNT for another network, but rather retiring from broadcasting altogether,”I have made the decision myself, no matter what happens, next year is going to be my last year on television.”

He went on to once again mention his love and gratitude for his NBA family before expressing wishes to “pass the baton,” for the NBA to stay with TNT, and to not give any more interviews on the subject of his departure. “Next year, I’m going to just retire after 25 years, and I just want to say thank you, and I wanted you all to hear it from me first.”

While fans are sure to miss Barkley’s commentary, personality, and incredible interactions with Shaquille O’Neal, they can be sure to enjoy one last dance with the basketball legend before he moves on for good.