‘American Idol’ Producer Wylleen May Exits Series After 22 Years, But Denies Any Link To Recent HR Investigation

Where to Stream:

American Idol

Powered by Reelgood

American Idol‘s Executive in Charge of Production, Wylleen May, is leaving the famed singing competition show after a 22-year-long run, Deadline reports. While her exit comes shortly after an HR investigation on the show, May denied any link.

According to the outlet, May, who has been part of the show since its inception, was let go by production company Fremantle after the most recent installment (Season 22).

Decider reached out to ABC for comment, but did not hear back by time of publication.

May shared a statement with Deadline, noting, “It is hard to express the gratitude I have to the team at Fremantle and American Idol, the place I knew as home for the last 22 years.”

“It may sound cliche, but it was my absolute honor to work day in and day out with people I consider to be some of the most talented, dedicated, and devoted in the business,” she continued. “I will miss you terribly.”

“That being said, I am sad to be leaving. I will forever cherish my time with Idol, and hope I am remembered for my experience, passion, and dedication to my role,” she added. “All we want for ourselves is to know that our work had a lasting impact. I am excited for my next journey, and what that will bring. Sometimes you need a little push forward, and I am grateful for all of it – beginning, middle, and end.”

May lamented that “unfortunately, [her] exit has been the subject of hurtful speculation and innuendos,” citing being “the subject of an HR investigation following a complaint about how [she] interacted with certain members of [her] team” that took place “at the end of 2023.”

Kayko, Lionel Richie, New Kids on the Block, Katy Perry, and Luke Bryan on 'American Idol'
Photo: Disney/Eric McCandless

“I fully and completely cooperated with this investigation, and it was closed quickly without any action taken,” she explained. “The decision to move on from me to a new EIC is not related, and any implication otherwise is completely misleading and inaccurate.”

A spokeswoman from Fremantle echoed this in a statement to Decider, as well, highlighting that May “has played a crucial role in helping build the lasting legacy of American Idol over the course of 22 seasons.”

“She steered the production to enduring success, and we are deeply grateful for her contributions and dedication to the show. The decision to make staffing changes for the next season was not based on the conclusion of any investigation,” they added. “We wish Wylleen the very best in all her future endeavors.  She will bring tremendous value to any project she works on.”

This past season was helmed by host Ryan Seacrest and judges Lionel Richie, Luke Bryan, and Katy Perry, the last of whom is bidding farewell to the show. As fans await a decision on her replacement, Idol‘s Season 1 champ, Kelly Clarkson, rejected the idea for her to take over for Perry next season.

“No. No. I can’t do that, only because I promised my kids,” she explained to Entertainment Tonight. “I was like, ‘I wanna be there as much as I possibly can.’ And it would put me in L.A., and that’s why I had to quit The Voice, which I love that team. And I miss them so much.”

Meanwhile, Meghan Trainor is vying for the spot, telling Andy Cohen on Watch What Happens Live last week that she’s “begged for” the role, which she deemed her “dream job.”