Mark Consuelos Gets Feisty On ‘Live’ After Kelly Ripa Claims He Can Never Understand Her While She’s Brushing Her Teeth: “Next Complaint”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Mark Consuelos‘ funny, feisty side came out on this morning’s Live with Kelly and Mark.

This morning’s installment of he and Kelly Ripa‘s eponymous morning show, which was previously recorded, featured an interview with actor and author Steve Guttenberg, whom Ripa said she got to speak with backstage.

“You know, I just did something with Steve Guttenberg backstage,” she shared, as Consuelos chimed in, “Ooh.”

“Yeah,” Ripa added, receiving some laughter from the audience. “That I do with you every day, and Steve Guttenberg understood me completely and fully, every word I said. And you stare at me and go, ‘I can’t understand you. What are you saying? What’s that?'”

What was the action in question, you might ask?

“I was brushing my teeth while having a conversation with Steve Guttenberg,” she continued. “I wanted to say hi to him before I came out here.”

Consuelos quipped, “Oh I can understand, ‘Hi. Hi Steve Guttenberg,” as he muffled his words and mimicked his wife and co-host brushing her teeth.

Nonetheless, Ripa insisted that they “were having a full conversation.”

Consuelos asked, “What did you say?”

Ripa replied, “We were talking quantum physics, okay? And he understood every word I said.”

Consuelos clapped back, “Well, maybe you should marry Steve Guttenberg,” to which Ripa quipped, “Right? I should have,” as she slammed the table in jest.

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos on 'Live with Kelly and Mark'
Photo: ABC

Consuelos continued, “Yes! There you go. That’ll be the answers to all your problems.”

While Ripa teased that Consuelos was “right,” he jokingly fired back, “Next complaint.”

However, Ripa didn’t “have anymore” qualms with Consuelos, telling him “that’s [her] main complaint” for the day.

Consuelos concluded, “All right. Excellent,” as he proceeded with the rest of their host chat.

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings.