‘The View’s Ana Navarro Argues With Co-Hosts Who Suggest Joe Biden Should Drop Out: “I’m Not Going To Judge Joe Biden On 90 Bad Minutes”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

The panelists on The View spent almost the full hour today discussing last night’s Presidential debate between Donald Trump and President Joe Biden, and while the entire panel agreed that it was hard to watch, they were divided on what the debate means for Biden’s viability as the Democratic nominee in the general election.

After watching footage of Biden, whose voice appeared weak and hoarse during the debate, Sara Haines declared, “I think President Biden needs to step down and be replaced if we want to defeat Donald Trump.”

“I would implore those closest with the President to have the very hard conversations they’re gonna need to have… for humanity, for his integrity, and for his legacy,” Haines added.

Alyssa Farah Griffin agreed, saying she was in shock after watching Biden’s performance, calling it “so bad that it eclipsed everything that Donald Trump said.” She later added, “Any other Democrat would wipe the floor with Donald Trump.”

Sunny Hostin felt similarly, saying, “He can bow out at this time with grace and dignity,” though she was frustrated that Biden is the only candidate that people are talking about replacing. She said, “I think it’s really ironic that we’re the only party talking about needing to replace their nominee…Their nominee is a convicted felon.”

The dissenting opinion of the group was Ana Navarro, who threw her support behind Biden. “I’ve known Joe Biden and I love Joe Biden,” the political strategist, who also happens to be a Republican, said. “I’ve never seen Joe Biden like I saw him last night, it is worrisome…But until Joe Biden tells me he’s giving up, I’m not giving up on Joe Biden.”

Ana Navarro
Photo: ABC

“To me, the binary choice remains the same,” she continued. “He looked elderly yesterday. He sounded elderly. He is elderly. But the choice is no different. It is a very old man versus a very bad man. It is a man who speaks with a weak voice but tells me the truth in a weak, elderly voice, and a man who lies with impunity. He is a machine gun of lies, but he does it with a stronger voice.”

Navarro concluded by saying, “I’m not going to judge Joe Biden on 90 bad minutes, I’m going to judge Joe Biden on his lifetime career of putting his country first.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.