Jenna Bush Hager Says Her Son Regularly Makes Fun Of Her “Nickels” – Meaning Her Nipples – When She’s Getting Ready: “He’s Started To Shame Me”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

Kids say the darnedest things! Today‘s Jenna Bush Hager was explaining her process to getting ready for a night out when she revealed a rather embarrassing story about her four-year-old son, Hal.

While she and Hoda Kotb agreed that they preferred to do their hair first when getting ready, Bush Hager admitted that her son “shamed” her into putting her clothes on first.

“Recently, while I’m getting dressed, if I do makeup, hair, outfit which is what I like, and I’m standing there, Hal likes to come in and say, ‘Look at your nickels, I like your nickles!’ Now, he’s talking about something else, …. Nipples!” she told Kotb, who replied, “I can kind of guess what he’s talking about.”

Bush Hager continued, “Yeah but he says, “Look at your big nickels!’ And then I feel a little humiliated in my own home.”

Kotb then asked her co-host, “Okay, I have a question for you, do you care about walking around naked with your kids around?”

“No, I don’t. But not in a gross way!” Bush Hager replied. “But also, I’m not walking around, I’m in the privacy of my own bathroom. And I don’t have much time, ’cause guess what? I have to go down and prepare his food.”

hoda kotb jenna bush hager
Photo: NBC

She continued, “He walks in and makes fun of my nickels, pointing and laughing and such, and talking about their size. And I’m like, ‘Ugh, then I have to get on a robe, which makes me hotter.'”

Kotb recommended she “throw on a t-shirt” instead. “I mean, it’s easier,” she said.

“I know, but he’s started to shame me into outfit, hair, then makeup,” Bush Hager said.

This isn’t the first time Bush Hager’s kids have “humiliated” her. In 2022, her daughter revealed during the Today broadcast that Bush Hager “never wears underwear.”

“She’s not wearing it right now! I saw her change,” she announced before Bush Hager covered her face with her hands and rushed her off-stage.

Today with Hoda & Jenna airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.